Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Trick Shot

by RadMcCool - Compo Entry

hmtl version available on gamejolt(ads are off). any tips for embedding?
Please comment some feedback, greatly appreciated :D
Would you play this on mobile?


Heyyyyyyy :D
-----------------------C O N T R O L S--------------------------
HOLD UP arrow to set Cannons ANGLE, release to set (sets color to yellow)
HOLD UP arrow to set Cannons POWER, release to set (sets color to blue)

SPACE for next level

BONUS FOR DOING BOTH a.k.a. a trick shot(main aim of game though not required for progress)

Colors are just placeholder for a change to the sprite that I didn't implement in time.
Try and get a perfect run, Good Luck :D.

Made with Gamemaker:Studio and BFXR (http://www.bfxr.net/) for sound

Themes: 2 buttons - up for angle, right for power, release to fire
growth... I'm gonna try and blag personal growth through encouragement
to get best score :D
Happy with the framework to begin something good. It's my first puzzle type game and would appreciate any feedback on all things. Really unsure what way to go with assets n stuff. Everything currently is placeholder :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#477Fun3.16
#539Humor2.25
#562Theme3.63
#622Audio2.23
#718Innovation2.72
#778Mood2.44
#787Overall2.85
#834Graphics2.28

Comments

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01am

Neat idea for the control scheme!

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:08am

Neat game! Graphics need a bit of improvement and the game could do with some music as well.

Also, it "feels" like the canon doesn't charge fast enough, meaning, if the charge bar fills halfway, I didn't feel like it shot far enough.

Nice concept and mechanics though :)

Good luck!

dusho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:55am

needs more levels..
also canon gets blue (not shooting) when trying to shoot using same angle 2nd time.. until you move it - intended ?

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:57am

if you just set angle cannon goes yellow
if you just set power cannon goes blue
when you fire cannon goes green

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:58am

Played the HTML version.
The controls are a bit strange. I figured out that you change the color after pressing the one button, and move with the other one. However, sometimes I'm able to charge my shot without shooting anything(until I change the angle, which releases a shot immediately). It took me also quite a while to figure out that you have to press space to enter the next level. It certainly needs more polish, as do the graphics.

Overall I really enjoyed your game.
Great job!

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:25am

Yeah I need to work on conveyance. The trick shot mechanic is a bit busted til i can get home. Thanks for the heads up about not knowing to press space, completely forgot im the only one who knows what does what :P

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:25am

The bouncing bomb was cute. Sometimes my cannonball didn't come out for a little while. I didn't understand the colours until you said below, but is that needed? Can't you tell you've got it right because you hit?

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:25am

Why does the canon locks? It's more frustrating than anything. This could be an interessing game with other constraints.

Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Pretty cool game! the game goes on when the target has been hit, so i lost stars :P

SayRafon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:21pm

The LevelDesign is really good ! The controls are a little difficult to fully master.
This game is cool :)

Remicy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:37pm

interesting!

Capitals says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Fun and simple game! Control scheme works, watch out your controls on the website are set wrong - Right is power, not Up again. You could improve by working on your graphic and the feel of the power bar, it's not very powerful. Good Luck!

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Fixed a few things there, so disregard previous issues with the controls and let me know if you find any new ones.

Reinoso says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Quite played their game. The control system works well the theme idea, but he gave some locked when I got passed the point of maximum curvature of the cannon, THAT bothered Quite because to descend the canyon again was difficult. But the physics of the game Works Very Well. Good job .

mockthebear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Nice mechancis adding springs and portal!
i think the angle selection and shoot was a bit stuck. i mean, i have to shot always to change the angle again

will be better if you hold the key and it keeps changing, also the shoot shoul go to the end and go back again.

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:22pm

If I let you change angle or power many times before before firing you can cheat the trick shot challenge by lining things up before taking shot

XenosNS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:58am

Very nice, enjoyable and well put together.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Very nice! Sometime I just press and hold the up arrow and ponder like a min what is the best position to release it :)
Would be nice to put this on touch devices.

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:35am

Nice game I like the Graphics, and gameplay.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Not a bad game, but once I started missing balls on the bouncing level, the sounds overwhelmed me.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Fun game! Good use of the theme and good level design
Fleshed out with some more levels/objects this would be really cool!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:57am

Pretty short but fun entry. The trickshot mechanic definitely needs working on but it's a very interesting concept.

cudabear says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:23pm

I really didn't get the color-changing cannon mechanic, it was more annoying than anything, causing me to miss shots that otherwise would have made it. Other than that, it was a decent little game. Some more levels would have been awesome!

vortex says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:40am

Very fun game, although I have some slight issues with it...
In the beginning I found it very confusing, that you can't move your cannon, after releasing the button. An order would have been nice too, so aim first, strength afterwards. You also don't have a single artstyle (The cannon and target for example could be from very different games).
Apart from that, you really made a fun game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]