Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Crystal Quest

by Belug - Jam Entry

*** This is an unfinished product, as my first game, first time working with unreal and first time drawing with a computer, this took me Way more time that it was supposed to. Still I publish it to get some feedback Thanks for playing!

You are the guardian of a Crystal tribe. One day your joyfull eternal life was disturbed by Mining dwarfs. You and your tribe ran away, but they took all of the crystal except one small piece that they droped. There's not enough energy in the piece alone for the tribe to survive so they fall to sleep.

You must brave the tunnels and enter the Dwarven forteress to get back the crystal parts, grind them and grow back the Crystal heart to revive your tribe.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1054Overall(Jam)2.53
#2043Coolness28%

Comments

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18pm

No Windows support?
That really narrows your audience :(

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Add windows support as most people will be using windows.

Belug says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Sorry, I'll try to Get a windows and web support soon, but I could not do it yesterday.

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:36pm

No linux box to try it on. Sorry!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Jumped all the way to the top but couldn't go further. Would be nice if the sprites were animated or the little guys you come across dis something or were killable?

153 Megabyte download, expanding into a 610 Megabyte folder. Bit excessive, isn't it?

Belug says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Sorry for the Size, as I said, it's the first time I used Unreal Engine that is the default packaging... I'll try to make it smaller today.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Congratulations on your first LD!
First, you should release at least a windows or web build if you want people to play your game.
Second, the file has more than 600MB?! WOW XD
Third, I couldn't run the linux binary, it returns the following:
"Using binned.
4.10.0-0+++depot+UE4-Releases+4.10 7038 3077 482 0
LowLevelFatalError [File:/home/belug/dev/UnrealEngine/Engine/Source/Runtime/OpenGLDrv/Private/Linux/OpenGLLinux.cpp] [Line: 183]
_PlatformCreateOpenGLContextCore - Could not create OpenGL 3.2 context, SDL error: 'Could not create GL context: GLXBadFBConfig'
Signal 11 caught.
EngineCrashHandler: Signal=11
Starting ../../../engine/binaries/linux/crashreportclient
Aborted"
By reading the crash dump, I can tell that I need some sort of previous configuration to install the required files used by the Unreal Engine.
You should describe the configuration details, requirements and compatibility in order to make the player's life a lot easier.

Belug says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42pm

@pjimmy, I'm installing Unreal on a windows box so I could release it for it, it's soon long. 600mb, it's not my choise, I've tryed to tweaks the packaging option this morning an I was able to shave 30mb.

And for your crash it looks like a video driver bug, on ubuntu you should install Nvidia or Radeon drivers since the default drivers don't have a good openGL version or something like that.

Thanks!

Belug says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Finally got the Windows Binary version! Currently building the HTML5 version.

Troma says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:38am

It's good for the first time. We need practice to learn, experience! I liked the idea and the art "concept", it would be nice if you continue.

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Nice platformer but as you said unfinished but good job :)

beetracks says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:05am

Well... it's a start. No sound, no animation, no menu, no explanation how to play... I enjoyed the drawings, though. I hope you can finish it. Good luck!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]