Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Eat & Run

by applejam - Jam Entry

So this is a runner type game. You play as a creature that devours stuff and grows larger. Your objective is to eat so much that you grow so big you could everything. But be cautios, you can't eat everything you see. Some things are not as tasty as others and will stop your growth. Also there are some guys that don't want you to eat their friends, make sure they don't catch you!
Controls :
x -open mouth
space -jump

Game by:
InfernalAd - sound, programming
Veli - art
Pai - art

Upd:
Fixed Dropbox link

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#367Humor(Jam)2.90
#388Graphics(Jam)3.68
#475Audio(Jam)3.09
#625Mood(Jam)3.09
#637Innovation(Jam)2.96
#668Overall(Jam)3.16
#670Fun(Jam)2.96
#691Theme(Jam)3.48

Comments

Roomsaver says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Dropbox 404?

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:28am

I love the art.

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:20pm

I had fun playing your game!! The controls are a little bit tricky but I managed to reach lvl 3! really nice art! Only concerne is that you must have luck to have a perfect serie of edible items and sometimes its just frustrating to just die without playing at all...

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:13pm

I like the art and the music! Very well done. Sometimes, my inputs wouldn't register, I think because of the high cooldown between two moves: opening the mouth twice in a row seems unreliable, same with jumping and opening your mouth. Overall great job!

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:19pm

The controls were a bit unresponsive and sometimes I would get a row of inedible items and die, but I managed to get to the level with the flying rat! It was a lot of fun and I think it was very well done!

Hackbug says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Cool game and very ncie graphics.

I had fun when playing ;)

... But i created a similare runner XD

angela says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:55pm

great concept. great art.
i can't jump over the first white blob without dying. Like, even if i'm completely up in the air, as soon as it passes underneath me, I die. Like, hitbox problem maybe? it's possible that I just can't get the timing right, but I tried like a million different ways. Love the art and humor.

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Great music

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Great music and graphics but the controls don't respond very well and it's kinda frustrating.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:30pm

keys no worky

tGiant says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Also love the art. Controls was a little bit strange.
Good job.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:49pm

I like the art!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Controls were very hard, couldn't jump and eat always it seems. A nice little entry but after 30+ tries I can't last more than 5-10 seconds. Music was nice.

Shovix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:21pm

neat

14Hertz says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:21am

As with many of the comments, I also had some issues with keys not responding at some time. Nevertheless, it was a fun little game which captured the essence of the theme nicely (both immediately through the game mechanics but also from the progression from eating cells to eating cats). I was slightly confused the first few times by why I was dying, so it might be worth making the "Hunter" guy's intentions of killing you slightly more obvious. But it was an enjoyable game nonetheless, nicely done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]