Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Phaseolus Magicus

by Dianouille - Compo Entry

It was my first compo, so, even if my game isn't really good, it's finish, so I'm pretty proud of that.

2 cards will appear on screen. If they are the same, use RIGHT, if thy are different, use LEFT. If your right, your beanstalk will grow. If not, you lose a life.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#289Graphics3.47
#523Theme3.68
#610Innovation2.94
#632Overall3.06
#672Mood2.70
#763Fun2.71

Comments

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:07am

Game doesn't run. on windows (32 and 64) i don't know what could've caused it.

onilink_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:23am

I have just a white or gray screen :/

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:52am

Can't run on Windows 32 or 64. :(

scars377 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:18pm

can't run

daleth90 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Run x86 & x64 version on Win7 x64
and get only white screen

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Can't run windows version.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Dont work for. Me

Dianouille says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:15pm

I'm really, really sorry guys, I made a beginner (and I'm a beginner, so) when I built. I'm fixing that.

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Runs fine for me windows 64.

I like the graphics but I can't say I understood what I was doing.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:30am

Not very clear at first, but pretty nice style. Good job.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:33am

This better be good, as I'm installing that stupid java runtime JUST FOR YOU! Luckily it worked just fine after that.

Simple but fun game! The graphics were minimal but the symbols and the bean stalk were very abstract (loved it!) and looked well polished. Good job on finishing your first ludum dare, be sure to enter again and make another abstract game! :-)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36am

I like how you implemented the theme, and I like the art style. Good job! :)

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Nice gameplay. Tried it on linux. After some time I get a IndexOutOfBoundsException.

Dianouille says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:39pm

@HUMANICS I'm sorry for you. I'm really not a programmer, so I just let the software make the build, I have no idea how I can fix it.

UncleChris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Can't run.

jlouisB says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Good job !
Simple concept, but well realized.

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:58pm

When I understood what I had to do (after reading the LD description, haha), the game got a lot more interesting. It's not very intense, but with some atmospheric music this could be a very cool "chilling game". Now, it's relying on the graphics for the atmosphere, which were pretty good. So, good graphics and nice gameplay :)

Suaave says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:34pm

5/5 for graphics. This is gorgerous :D. But I think the gameplay doesn't really tie in with the topic, there could be way more :D

Meta-link says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Great game !
I liked the way you see your shape growing, also they are really well designed !
Good job :)

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:42am

Congratulations on your first compo entry.
It's pretty solid gameplay and great use of the themes.
There is one thing that annoyed me a bit: I can't really look at the beanstalk and the cards at the same time, so I can't appreciate the beauty of it as it grows without fearing to loose a life. It would be really cool if after you failed you could see the growing of your beanstalk like a replay or something. Because it really looks awesome.
Another thing, which is not negative in my opinion but maybe something for you to think about for further games is the ratio of how many times I have to choose right and how many times I have to choose left. Because for like 75% (felt, I didn't create an actual statistic about it ;) ) of the time I could just press left, because it just is so much more likely thet two different cards will come up. Changing this ratio might affect the gameplay heavily, so depending on what you want to achieve you might consider things like this.
All in all a very well done entry.
I hope to see more from you the next LD.

Auroz says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Interesting idea, little bit boring.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Nice simple game ! And nice art work.

Aelius says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:25pm

I didn't know a game where you match cards could be so hard sometimes. Great stuff.

Shovix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:20pm

ok

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Just an advice, I was playing on my tablet computer (1366x768) and I was not able to see the bottom of the screen. Not really important though.

Crefossus says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Maybe show your structure/image on the oops screen displayed nicely (along with your best run?). some calming music and sfx for success/failure and other feedback and it could be pretty replayable.

I like how you can develop a strategy to get better at this (for me it was to stare at the center shapes for a match to start with).

To make it more minimalistic - I think it should start off built a little bit and then you can get rid of the lives completely since the base of the tower would be your lives.

congrats on finishing... I had a hard time once again.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]