Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growurm

by SeaDads - Jam Entry

As a newly born deep-sea Gromorphia Wormaptera, capable of reaching over 100m long, your only mission is to navigate the pitch black underwater caves, searching for food and realising your true potential!

Notes

This is an endless game, simply grow as much as you can! Eating food advances you up the screen while hitting a wall will knock you back. You fail if you fall off the bottom of the screen!

There are 15 levels/color schemes so have fun getting to see them all!

Controls

Left / Right Arrows - Move left/right, too easy

Credits

David Lloyd - Code, Shaders (@DuzzOnDrums)
Jonathan Murphy - Code (@nuclearfriend)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#66Fun(Jam)3.89
#71Theme(Jam)4.26
#159Overall(Jam)3.74
#374Graphics(Jam)3.70
#397Mood(Jam)3.35
#567Innovation(Jam)3.07

Comments

retr0verse says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:38am

Really Great! cool idea, crashed after first death for me but i really liked the mechanic that pushed you back rather than ending the game whenever you stuffed up, really cool Great Work!

plauk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:31am

Good fun. But gets hard pretty quick. Once I start hitting things, I hit EVERYTHING.

I got a few glitches:
In the web version, I zoomed in on the browser, and every level a box would flash up on the screen and cover the worm, so I would crash into things.

In the Windows version, it seemed to lock up after a single death.
Tried to go full-screen by hitting alt-enter and it sorta worked, but not quite... and then crashed.

Still... good game!

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:21am

Very interesting game. It is fun and feels good. The art style is great.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:22am

Game played very well! Wish there was sound, but it was very fun to play.

kmakai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:26am

Super fun, and I really like the graphical style, especially when the colors change. You should develop it further, I would definitely play this as a mobile game with some more patterns in the levels, maybe even different modes or powerups. Great job!

sonelliot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:34am

Really cool game. Gets hard fast and I like how the obstacles are procedurally generated. I had one run where I had 4-6 rounds of the tight staircase pattern in a row! Duck and weave, duck and weave lol.

zzapp says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:44am

Simple clever idea, really nice. Once you get going its a really fun yet challenging game.

Drury says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:52am

Hitting stuff makes you go lower on the screen, eating stuff makes you go higher. The higher up on the screen you get, the harder it is to see obstacles coming. When you reach the bottom, you die.

Very clever design.

SeaDads says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Thanks for the awesome feedback guys, if you need some music/sound I highly recommend just pumping some great chiptunes in the background like this! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w5kdwukF3Ag :)

marod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:05pm

It's a great game! I see it potential for mobile devices

bloomingbuds says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Really enjoyed the style and colors used. Felt retro and modern at the same time. I would have liked some additional movement patterns (there are only two or three). Fun game. Good job!

Reccy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Fun game with nice controls. I liked how the themes changed each level, looks awesome! :D
Wish it has sound effects though.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:13pm

This is a neat game :)
The difficulty progression feels exactly right to me!
It could have done with some Super Hexagon-style of music I think. But it's a great game nonetheless :)

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Great look !. It is a simple and fun game, I like.

AM_Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Really fun and simple game! Goes to show that the use of 2 colours can still make a visually appealing game. Good job!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:15pm

My best is 397cm. This was really fun but could have been even more addictive with some sfx. Very few sfx were needed to add a great dimension to your game, plz have a look to Bfxr or labchirp for your next jam.

Xgor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Nice game. Kinda forgiving as I long as I got all the pellets I could survive forever. Nerfing the pellets and creating more variations with the random generator and you got a pretty addicting game.

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Really good presentation! I liked how you made the title screen content an obstacle that the player busts through. It gave a got of character to the experience and it's something I wish there was more of in my submission's title.

I can see you guys opted out of audio, but I'm curious why you didn't add any Autotracker/SFXR magic to it? I find it often helps flush out the content a bit.

Regardless, good stuff! Really pleasing.

SeaDads says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:50am

Thanks for the music suggestions, definitely not much of an excuse except it wasn't a focus for me and I was kinda expecting a friend to come through with some music at some point. Autotracker seems great though and I'll keep it in mind for future Jams!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:00pm

A really nice idea... such as a flappy bird... its hard and it is challengin... +1 for challenge... But it seems like, there are some situations where the game have unfair positioning of the obstacles... so if you have passed a gap at the left and the next gap is at the other side of the screen... maybe you should polish the gameplay a little bit and make a post-compo version... I think it could be a good app-store game... Good job

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:27am

Really fun! Love the retro look and the frantic camerawork. Also the way the color sweeps up the screen is great. Awesome job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]