Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Vector Color War

by WizByte_Games - Compo Entry

Vector Color War is a game where you are in a small arena and you have to defeat enemies in order to grow strong enough to escape. The longer you stay in the arena the more the enemy forces will grow.

This game was made in 48 hours for the Ludum Dare 34 compo

Tools used
Unity 5.3
Paint.net
BFXR

Thanks to anyone that plays, and feedback is more than welcome

Update 1
- Changed the controls so they are more responsive
- In Normal mode firing is made simple (a/d: Horizontal firing, s/w vertical firing)
- In Hard mode the buttons are the same is in the original uploaded version
- Added a color blind mode (I'm not color blind so I don't know how effective it is.)
- Changed the speed of enemies. (The longer you play the faster they will become up to a certain speed.)
- Changed how pickups spawn. So now there will be less pickups the longer you play

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#413Innovation3.25
#726Fun2.79
#742Overall2.93
#952Theme2.15

Comments

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:17pm

This had very little to do with the theme. Firing buttons could be more responsive. The game play was fun enough until it started spamming "clear screen" powerups... I could forget about shooting.

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Interesting concept but the controls don't respond very well and they're too many of them. Was fun anyway, and could be funnier with little improvements.

Shovix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:20pm

i like dots

WizByte_Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:45am

Thanks for the feedback. I am currently working on changing how the controls work, and adding more to the game. If I have a chance I will probably post a link sometime this week.

guoboism says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:04am

Nice game. Inspiring. But the control is odd and unresponsive..

luysse_l says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:00pm

not bad, you have the potentiel for make a better game

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Fun idea! I liked the powerups

tompudding says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:45pm

A interesting idea! The explosions bouncing off the walls was a nice touch. As others have said the firing control takes too long and feels unresponsive. Also as a colourblind person I could not distinguish between the yellow and green enemies

mahjong50 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:54pm

I like the concept with the art and special effects, but the enemies are a little dull and slow.
Also some upbeat and fastpaced background music would help a ton.

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Interesting side-shooter! Movement felt ok, but the firing was delayed, making the overall feel out of sync.
The speed should be cranked up a bit. (instead of an 'normal' and 'hard' mode, just start with normals and progress to 'hard')

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:41am

Good concept but needs to be polished.
Enemies only move to border but don't do any harm to player, that makes player very easy to live without challenging them.

MAnimal says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:58am

Nice idea with colors, need some spice

WizByte_Games says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:41pm

I have made an update to the game. I hope you guys like the adjusted controls :)

KanedaXIII says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:17pm

A great game, altough not a trace of the themes. The visual effects are well made and fit perfectly with the style. Only a bit of music is missed

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]