Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hope

by Vidinu - Jam Entry

Fight the Darkness with Light... and enjoy!

The level include a final boss. Can you defeat enough dark creatures to find it?

Use scroll to move the magic shield and space to accept.

Hope v1.1 ---------------------------------------

- Added the first skill to magic barrier
- Changed the final boss pattern
- Support for use Arrows or W & D to move
- Added a victory animation
- Adjusted the speed of the enemies
- Modified the spawn time of items and enemies
- Changed the items images

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#304Graphics(Jam)3.81
#390Mood(Jam)3.36
#487Fun(Jam)3.19
#508Innovation(Jam)3.15
#541Overall(Jam)3.30
#733Humor(Jam)2.21
#757Theme(Jam)3.38

Comments

Atnas says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34am

Super cool game! I just wish there was a saving throw kinda thing you could use space for. like a rechargable burst that hits behind the paddle, or maybe a jump. it's more one button! Anyway, I loved the graphics, nice feeling.

Vidinu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49am

Thank you! We plan to use the space to use objects (bullets, area attacks ... ) but we ran out of time :(

We will add in post update ^^

shadow64 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:09am

I really liked the way this game looks a lot. The control system is a little hard for me because the scroll wheel is sort of difficult. But it's a really novel use for it and I'm excited by it overall. :) Thanks for sharing and congrats on finishing!!!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Cool game. Great graphics and really good audio.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Too bad you didn't get time to add the bullets and area attacks. As it is, sometimes enemies are coming at the shield level at the same time on different lanes and you can't really fight against it.
Apart from that, I liked the overall realization ! Nice little game there :)

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Nice little game, love the graphics, but you run too quickly out of hearths I think.

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Nice game. The graphics and animations were very impressive. Scroll wheel is a notoriously finicky input, it can be completely different depending on the mouse and the player's calibrations, so I would probably avoid that and stick to either panning the mouse up and down or the up and down arrow keys. The game itself was fun and the boss fight was pretty neat. Nice work, well polished.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:39pm

I beat it! Super fun game, and it is quite an original idea to use the scroll button, but it works very well, even better than with the mouse.

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Nice game, but a little too hard in my opinion. Another function to kill ennemy when you miss them with the shield would be welcome, but you ran out of time apparently and I understand that XD

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Really funny Game, i like the sound and the control with the mouse wheel.

Yword says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Really cool and additive gameplay! But I think it will be better if the player has some skills to attack or defend against nearby enemies. Well done!

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Good job! Perhaps consider adding more tools for the secondary button? (space) would be interesting. I think the mousewheel is a tough choice but it's fairly playable!

Well done =)

Troma says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:27am

Good job! Nice ambiance.

NoGrapes says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:43am

Great graphics and pretty fun although it was tough for me I enjoyed it. I like the game overall. Great work!

monetai says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:57am

uber cool game, graphics were cool gameplay was cool, i liked scrolling!

Indiestry says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:29am

Cool concept and nice atmosphere. I like it!

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Nice mood!
The graphics looks quite stylish.
Though this game is quite hard IMO.
Also I think using mouse scroll to move is not so intuitive, you know, many mouse wheels are not very responsive.
Anyway, nice job!

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Definitely a good game with a lot of potential. I think you woud have a problem with different mouse wheels moving at different mouse speeds.

I really love it, though.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:00am

That's clever to use scroll as a game controller, it's a small change but makes game much more entertaining. Pretty good music, goes well with graphics.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:02am

Great use of the mousewheel! A very fun mechanic. Seemed a little unfair though when two bad dudes came at the same time on each end of the track, seems there was literally nothing that you could do...

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:04am

Nice visuals and fun challenging gameplay. Occasionally I would get two enemies at one which kinda screwed me but nice pretty entry.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:20am

The controls were a bit touchy but overall really fun and highly polished. Took a few tries to get to the boss but it was worth it. Fun game!

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:24pm

I did much better with the scroll wheel than I did with the keys...
Music was nice and not abrasive, fitting the visual of the game well...

I liked the Boss, but kinda wish he exploded...

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:24pm

The darkness consumed me :( Fun game though, found it easier to use arrow keys than the mouse wheel, so glad that got implemented

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:54am

Very nice graphics, loved the rain. If combined with the right music, it would set a much better mood, now the music and the graphics don't feel very coherent.

Also, it is impossible to block all enemies, making me die pretty quick. Max score of 1440

Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:47am

Overall great entry. We really think you could add some touch controls and throw this on mobile easily. All the stuff you've done for the post jam fixes the issues we had playing the jam version. So keep going, and good luck with it!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Nice music and graphics. Controls are a bit too sensitive. It would be nice if things started out slower, and got faster later on, that way I would have a chance to get used to things.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Nice entry. It's a simple game. Maybe you can add more variety. Overall the game passes.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]