Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

McBitey

by weggel - Jam Entry

McBitey is a little arcade game about a plant eating flies.

have fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#619Humor(Jam)2.48
#738Theme(Jam)3.41
#839Fun(Jam)2.73
#928Graphics(Jam)2.43
#969Overall(Jam)2.73

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59am

Clever idea! Took me a minute to figure things out; the stun mechanic is less than obvious. Still good job. :)

xslipher says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00am

I like the look of this game. Good job! :D

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:20am

Cool concept! I like the different ways to gain altitude. The art is cute as well!
Some more instructions or information would be helpful. I'm not completely sure why I can't jump after a few jumps.
Nice work!

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30am

Quite unique, took me a bit to understand the "boost" and the grapple. The mouse controls were off by a bit for me. about an inch and a half. I'm not sure if it's a screen size issue or what. but it made it very hard to play.

Enchae says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:40am

Neat idea! I like the multiple movement options, the 'stun' mechanic was not extremely obvious, but I got it shortly after.

The game definitely could use some music, and maybe a different font, but I like the simplicity and overall feel of it. Good job!

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49am

Cool game :) Neat idea !

gkxd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12am

It's a bit difficult to tell what is bigger than you and what you can actually eat. Once I figured that out, the game was pretty fun.

In the game over screen, the white "Press R To Restart" is hard to see against the light blue background.

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32am

Reminds me of old arcade I used to play as a kid. Well done overall!

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:36am

So funny!

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27am

This was pretty tough, but it was fun to experiment around and see how everything worked, nice job!

currox says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Simple but great game, addictive and hard, loved it :)

Shovix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:19pm

a lot of fun indeed

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Cool concept, was a little fiddly at first but I got the hang of it and it was fun :D

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Quite hard to control at first but soon got used to it, turned out to be quite enjoyable!
As others have said some more instructions/tutorial would have been nice.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:38am

I love grappling games. :) However, sometimes the big flies would be so arranged that it was impossible to pass. Nevertheless, well done.

gloim says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:48am

could use some polish but had fun :)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:43am

Please change the download title from "Web" to "Windows" as Web means that it's playable directly in a browser.

LukeZaz says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:01am

Graphics were decent and it was cool that you pulled off both themes, but the gameplay just wasn't that interesting. More things to do and maybe some music would've helped a lot, but just trying to avoid large flies didn't really do it for me.

Jan 15, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Challenging game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/PXolvG1P7M4

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]