Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

No Rush

by jirrev - Compo Entry

No Rush is a fast paced obstacle runner which places you in a 1-bit enviroment. Move your way down the platforms to escape impending doom. But don't go too fast or you might just fall to your death!

Use the A/Left Arrow and the D/Right Arrow keys to move around the levels. When a gateway is locked, get the key of that level so that you can proceed.

Use the mouse to navigate the menu (I know that makes it three buttons but the game itself is 2 button controlled)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Fun4.09
#44Overall4.00
#161Theme4.09
#188Graphics3.73
#199Audio3.29
#465Innovation3.18
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

eddynardo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:57am

wow nice one, this is really adicting... perfect for a mobile game

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:10am

Super fun! I got to fitty points! Woulda benefited from some sick music, though! Your art was really on point. Good job!

Auroz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Very fun game, loved the graphics. The spikes at the bottom seemed a bit unfair though, because when two gaps lined up it was impossible to avoid death.

Rys0n says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Fricking love this man, the game-feel is spot-on.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Nice game!

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:56pm

This kind of games make me nervous. This game made me specially nervous. You did it right!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:11pm

A very nice game! Fluid and fun. I really like it. It is one of those games where you can get in the zone and play with for a while.

Jerre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Very good game! Nice style with the art and music, also nice that the platforms continue moving in the menu. The only point of improvement I can think of is a bit more difficulty slope in the genereation of the platforms/speed, and maybe a good background chiptune. Also nice name, my name is Jerre :p

purrpurr says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:46pm

No rush. Except, do rush! But not too much. Okay you can rush again.. This game is very nicely executed.

Ampera says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Fun platformer. It's like VVVVVV

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:53pm

My favorite semi-random arcade style game so far. Very fun, smooth gameplay. I know this is asking alot bc i dunno if thers a host site that would support it but with these types of games I wish you could see the LD-wide top score so I could try to beat what other plays did rather than competing with myself. But again, thats asking alot.

You did a good job of making blocks and shapes have personality (better than most I've seen) but I after seeing so many sometimes I just wish the little square at least had eyeballs and facial expressions or something.

All this to say: sweet game brother.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:02pm

I like this game)

jirrev says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Everybody, thank you so much for the support. I love making games and like it when people enjoy playing them.
As for the feedback up until this point, I'll try to adress it here:
- The intended target will eventually be a mobile device so that was a good guess Eddynardo.
- As for music, I'm not that good in making music myself, but I will definetly consider it when expanding the game.
- Also, I made it impossible for the game to be impossible, you can change direction in mid-air and there is only 1 wall at the same time ;)
- An online score board is deffinetly something I'd wish to try, but with this time-span it was impossible to implement that for me.

Anyways, thank you all for playing and voting and thanks for all the feedback, I'll try and implement as much as possible and hope you continue playing my game.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Great concept and easy gameplay. I love the game design and the level of difficulty that has the game. Nice job :-)

paruthidotexe says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Nice and addicting.. i feel it is more fast to play and one have to have faster reaction to play for long time... but addicting

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]