Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Elemental Force - The Medallion's Guardian

by redzero - Jam Entry

Matt Connor always heard about the legendary Elementarian People and its famous elementary Medallion. When Matt found the Medallion in a cave near the ruins of a temple, the ancient gods began testing Matt to see if he is worthy to keep the Medallion and control the Elemental Force.

Controls:
[X] - Change element
[Z] - Use Powers

There are 5 Levels to beat!

Powers:
Fire Blast;
Air Jump;
Lightning Slash;
Rock Immunity;
Water Blast.

Tips:
Lava Pillar: harms all. Destroyed by water;
Stone Pillar: harms all except earth. Destroyed by lightning and fire;
Ice Pillar: harms all. Destroyed by lightning and fire;
Wood Log: harms all except fire. Destroyed by lightning and fire;
Stone spikes: harms fire and water;
Puddle: harms fire;
Fire strip: harms air and lightning.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#114Innovation(Jam)3.76
#253Theme(Jam)3.97
#292Overall(Jam)3.55
#317Graphics(Jam)3.79
#560Humor(Jam)2.58
#614Mood(Jam)3.10
#619Fun(Jam)3.03

Comments

terry90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Nice art style, good introduction. However, the gameplay isn't balanced very well. I couldn't make it past four columns. That's either a testament to my horrible gaming skills or the difficulty ramp is a bit extreme. All the elements (pun intended) seem to be there to make a fun game, it just needs some fine tuning in the level design to get the player invested in playing it.

Things I liked:

* Art style was really nice and consistent. Color palette was easy on the eyes (great).

* Elements were explained well, and the dual functionality in the game had good potential for a variety of obstacles. Having even more complexity in the obstacle (e.g. lava to rock) was also a nice touch.

* Good animation on the character and lava

* Music is great, and matches/inspires the urgency. The run speed feels right because of this.


Improvements:

* Speed felt good, but the obstacles came up way too fast in the beginning. Perhaps a slower speed to adjust to the obstacles? OR Pace the obstacles out a bit more?

* Make the visual feedback on player life bigger.

* Pause Menu

* Mouselook for element selection? Direction the mouse is dragged in to shift elements... X is way too slow for the frequency of obstacles.

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:28pm

nice game. I really liked the graphics and audio, but it was a bit too difficult. it takes a lot of time to change to the right element and after you use it on one obstacle they often transform to something else and there isn't enough time to change to something else.

Still, good work!!

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Awesome game! really enjoy the graphics and the power mechanics!

Dalkor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Fun, addicting, but extremely challenging. Really like the art and the music. Suggestion: switch between powers using both x and z rather then having to cycle through them all and long press to use a power?

EMPBomber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43pm

The game uses the two button controls theme well and fits with the mechanics. This also makes the game difficult because it requires reaction time to get to the right element to keep going.

I got to level 4, but that was from remembering the order in which the obstacles come after multiple attempts. Aside from that, it is a good game. Nice job.

WASDMagician says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Very nice idea, a little too quick for my liking however.

mikedurn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24pm

I think this would be really fun with more buttons. The two button control makes it really difficult (I can only make it past a few obstacles). But the graphics and idea are great!

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:54pm

I really like the concept and your use of the theme.

I feel like the element switching wasn't super intuitive at first - it took me a while to really get the hang of what I should be doing.

It was fun though, and I like the art a lot.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:57pm

The idea is solid and the ring of powers + use is cool, but I will need a lot of time of tries and memorisation before I get past obstacle 5 :) Nice intro screen too.

Indie L says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:03am

A good game.But is very difficult to avoid the obstacles.If you fix this,the game will be amazing!

fxtagn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:03am

Awesome non-trivial elements-based mechanics!

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:29am

Gameplay and idea are realy awesome, rly. But I think it too hard)

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:06pm

That's a game we like! Difficult? YES! But oh, that's challenging!

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Loved the graphics on this one! The idea is pretty cool as well. Congratulations! :D

redzero says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:11am

Thank you so much to all! :D

sonelliot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:40am

I liked the art style and music. I couldn't make it past the first three columns though. Lore-wise, it seems inspired by Avatar :p

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:02am

Dude... what a hard game! (btw: I saw the tips after end the game hdushsaudasd)

Anyway, I did it! https://gyazo.com/f5ba9bc95276f0cd5fb680dd2690961f

Nice gameplay

DraKlaW says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Nice concept ! Too hard for me (I'm a console gamer, so until it doesn't use the thumbs, I'm lost !) but really great !

Logicon says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:20am

I am worthy of the medallion. Whos paying for my new keyboard?

JoseArias says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:56pm

I know that the Them is two button. For future versions, an additional button to change the power but in the opposite direction would be nice. I liked the game!

Wakefield says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:54pm

The gameplay and the mechanics are really clever! nice job! Love how the art is well implemented and the various powers.
The level is a bit hard at the beggining and maybe a non explicit tutorial would work great.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]