Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Falling and dying

by Wakefield - Jam Entry

Here's our entry for this LD! We did'nt make it! yaaay! actually, the level sucks and there's no audio. Also some enemies doesn't work and needs more graphics.

But we are really happy with this! we did something! ahahha I'm not a programmer so that's why i'm so happy.


Special thanks for Camila Valenzuela, who did the art, and for Anzimus, because I use some of his tiles and art.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#522Fun(Jam)3.15
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#615Theme(Jam)3.58
#663Graphics(Jam)3.16
#874Overall(Jam)2.89

Comments

flakoflak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:33am

nice idea, i didnt know where to go though.. well done!

zzapp says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:00am

Cool idea, used the themed well.
Although it didn't take me to long to find the exit, a little less random dead ends or more information on where the exit actually was would of been great.
Nice job overall though.

Wakefield says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:36am

Thanks for the comments! this past weeks i could´t find the time to fix things or even rate other games. Right now I´m looking them and there are so many surprises!

Again, thanks for the comments!

simon.parzer says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:21am

Those are the deadliest kites I've seen so far. It's fun to play too and I really like the background graphics.

Smirnov48 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:24am

Nice game. Simple and interesting. Good job!

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:23am

the collision boxes could be a bit smaller, but overall good game :)

Catmoo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:46am

I really love the idea and especially the guy using his brolly to float! I thought it was ok, if you find time to in the future expand on it I reckon that would be great. Maybe instead of having dead ends have them all as strands off a main route that can connect up. I'd definitely play it again :)

_benhumphries says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:01pm

cool idea. It reminds me of terraria, using the umbrella to avoid monsters and stuff. It's execution could have been better, but I found myself enjoying playing it. I noticed that sometimes the collisions didn't really work right, and I found it very frustrating to go into a dead end with no way of getting out. I would omit those completely and just have a more challenging, linear level. Good job!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:42pm

I like your idea, nice , simple with cool graphics and fun to play. I found very frustrating too to die with no way of getting out. xD Nice work!

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:21pm

I did it! I survived! Fun, needs more levels!

RHY3756547 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:27pm

I like moving into a wall to slow myself down, but the enemies were rather annoying and hard to avoid. Also, deadly kites??? Fire breathing birds?? Unusually shaped buildings???? Where am I? 8O|

Well put together, and feels pretty complete apart from lack of audio.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:22pm

Nice art

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:34pm

Cool game. I fell and I died. I also won. :)

LeReveur says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Not bad, it works for me, good job. :)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:05am

Nice job, need a clue or else get trapped in unwinnable area. I did play until I won

Elenesski says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:29pm

nice idea, but I think it gets too hard too quickly.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:45pm

Loved the graphics and really cool game! Could definitely see this continued! Well done! Again, I really like the graphcis ;)

gBouckaert says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:53am

Nice game, simple and fun, and made me want to keep playing.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]