Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GameApi VolleyBall

by terop - Jam Entry

GameApi VolleyBall
------------------

Controls: WASD + SPACE

ESC to exit the game.

To start the game, run runme.bat file from the zip file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#800Humor(Jam)2.04
#958Graphics(Jam)2.34
#981Mood(Jam)2.22
#1001Innovation(Jam)2.18
#1081Fun(Jam)1.97
#1091Theme(Jam)2.11
#1115Overall(Jam)2.10

Comments

JalapenosBud says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:10am

it's really weird to play when the camera doesnt move :/ cant really time it to hit the ball, and the colors when you lose points? are really saturated

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Cool, but what with two button controls and growing? No themes?

terop says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Check the time indicator -sphere, if you want to know how I implemented "Growing".

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:37pm

An interesting concept, while it was kind of satisfying to hit the ball, it didn't feel like my fault when I didn't. The camera was in a bit of an awkward position and the controls took some getting used to (maybe reduce the turning speed to actually allow some degree of control there.)
Graphically, it wasn't anything spectacular but you have managed to get some models together.
The theme implementation felt a little shoehorned into a concept you'd come up with before - while this may not be the case, this is the impression I came away with.
So to improve:
- Make the controls a little tighter
- Place the camera in a more logical place (such as behind the pitch looking down) and give more cues about perspective
- Brush up on modelling. It's hard, I know.
- Add more cues as to when you will hit the ball, sounds or visual warnings would work.

Transmit says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:17am

Found it way too hard to play, the camera angle made the perspective really strange for positioning yourself.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:24am

This is extremely weird, and I had no idea what was going on lol... Also why was the download for Windows so slow? I took like 15 minutes to complete. Controls need the most work I think.

CremaGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:44pm

wtf

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:47pm

It's bit weird choice of colors, and I really didn't like the flashing when losing points.

If you would add a shadow to the ball, it would be way easier to see where (in the 3d space) it actually is.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:15pm

I couldn't get on with the camera, the angle/position was just awkward the entire time. That said, it made it quite satisfying when you did actually manage to hit the ball

BoredOfYou says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:18am

Very very weird. Poor controls, runs at low fps despite being so simple

dollarone says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:36am

Congrats, this is the weirdest volleyball game I have played :-D

I managed to beat level 1, but it didn't seem to matter how close the (small) ball was for me to hit it or not. Love the music btw :)

RHY3756547 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:56am

There are a few searing problems that don't appear to have been pointed out in the comments here, so I'm going to go out and say them.

For one, there's a very good reason that people don't do 3D graphics using ray marching - this game performs like shit on my GTX 870m, and looks like it too. It's popular in shadertoy for lightweight vfx, but not games. Please stick to using normal textured triangles in future.

I don't think you understand what Ludum Dare is. All of your submissions, including one on "terop2" that was just an unfinished chess game, seem to ignore the themes entirely. A random growing sphere on the other side of the pitch is NOT a direct **gameplay** link to either the growing or two button control themes. The games need to also be built from scratch, that is, not a repurposing of the same assets you made in a previous MiniLD or warmup.

You might want to look into why "GameAPI" is taking up literally 40MB as a dll. I don't think even the linux kernel is that big. You might want to try using Unity.

The gameplay itself is awfully simple.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]