Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Wild Flower's Song

by NidzaKornjaca - Jam Entry

IMPORTANT
---------
OS X and Linux users need to set the file permissions for the file to be executable using chmod +x or chmod 755.

UPDATE - FIXED (i hope) -
---------------------------
I've also been told the game is crash prone - I can't reproduce it on my machine, but it has happened to a few different people.
Until I fix it, a simple restart/refresh should solve it.

Turns out it wasn't an actual crash. I just managed to leave some debug code that would show the text on key input. Silly me <3

HOW TO PLAY
-----------
A/D or the Arrow Keys to move.
Collect seeds to sprout branches.
Escape to quit (desktop).

DESCRIPTION
-----------
Made in less than 18 hours for #LD34.

Explore the poetry of William Blake!
Think Journey...

But made in 18 hours by one guy who may or may not know what he is doing.

Features:

Soothing minimalistic graphics
Soothing ambiental music that dynamically changes
This poem:
The Wild Flower's Song

As I wander'd the forest,
The green leaves among,
I heard a wild flower
Singing a song.

I slept in the Earth
In the silent night,
I murmur'd my fears
And I felt delight.

In the morning I went
As rosy as morn,
To seek for new joy;
But O! met with scorn.

Both links include Web, Windows, OS X and Linux builds.
OS X and Linux untested - tell me whether it works or not please :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#24Mood(Jam)4.32
#66Audio(Jam)4.00
#121Theme(Jam)4.15
#196Overall(Jam)3.68
#374Graphics(Jam)3.70

Comments

AkirAssasin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:29pm

OSX version displays 'can't be opened'.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:03am

Thanks for the comment!
Permissions need to be set for the executable file using chmod.

Ornicar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:48am

Really peaceful and relaxing, thanks ! ^^

Zknet says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:50am

Fantastic! I loved the mood of the game... very peaceful.

Suui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:58am

Oh, nice is the word to describe it :)

Pretty relaxing, interesting concept, I enjoyed it.

fede0d says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:05am

Very atmospheric, I liked it.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07am

The droplet graphics make for a nice style, and the audio is very soothing. "Fun" is of course a bit lacking, but that's not what you were going for after all. Altogether a pleasant surprise for the first game I'm rating this LD.

squarebridges says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10am

This is beautiful!

Slight issue with the web version is that pressing down fades the screen to black (underneath what I assume is the credits, which are unreadable.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:25am

Thanks for the kind words!
@squarebridges: If by down you mean S - then I forgot to remove some early debug code so it might be interacting a bit fiddly with the rest of the game >.<

I'll be reuploading a fixed build later today.

bloomingbuds says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:51am

very nice use of colors, lovely music and sounds!

Neoludo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:52am

Asides from a few glitches here and there with credits appearing randomly on the screen on top of themselves, this was a really nice, relaxing, meditative experience. One of the most relaxing games I've played in a long time... overall extremely pleasant. Thanks for the experience and beautiful poetry!

RadStar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:53am

Wow I love this kind of contemplative games! The art, the poem and the music/sound design are working very well together! Really good job!! :)

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:54am

Very interesting game, but a little boring. Also I have problems to visualice the text, that overlaps with other text. Great game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:55am

Perfect mood, perfect sound, fits the theme very well!
Not much else to comment, I think the game does perfectly what it set out to do :)
At most, it could've used more visual effects towards the end of the poem, perhaps more atmospherics or more blooming elements of the "flower" that keeps growing - more color or shapes :)

Very well done!

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

Remblej says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:00am

That loading though :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05am

I thoroughly enjoyed the experience keep up the good work ,
18 works u did some work :P

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10am

This is so wonderful. I.. I got something in my eye.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:23am

Great mood

fractalbear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Beautiful, loved it, thank you :D

Baransu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Nice game, but a little bit too short. He he he he

printhello says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Very nice

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Pretty :) I really wish I could appreciate poetry, but alas!

Note on the gameplay, I wanted to move around and make the tree grow in all kinds of ways, but often I'd see the next pickup too late and not be able to reach it in time. So in the end I just sat back and let it grow straight up until pickups arrived.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38pm

@Warboys:
Theres a *secret* button. Don't tell anyone!

Tuism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Played on itch.io. no sound?

I like the pretty style, that's really interesting, but I feel like it can barely be called a "game"... I could just leave it running. The branches and the poem are pretty, but ultimately not interesting to me. Maybe it's just me. I didn't like Monument Valley too and it won like a million awards...

I feel like I couldn't make round shapes like the rest of the branches were - my lines were zig zaggy and that felt out of place.

Would have liked to see a zoomed out view of my creation - I feel like that that would add a lot more to the creative aspect of this. To be creative and be recorded as such.

Pretty thing :)

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:05pm

I looks very pretty :3

SiENcE says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Wonderfull relaxing! The theme is suberb fullfilled and writing a poem for an LD game is just great :) !

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:01am

This is a relaxing and reflexive game!
I loved the concept and I was really hypnotized by the sound!

Thanks for this awesome experience!

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:07am

Lovely mood! I really really liked this one :)

blohod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Very nice and relaxing, more of an experience than a game, I liked it. Played on a livestream at http://www.twitch.tv/meep706.

BroCade says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:55am

Nice use of the theme and really relaxing.

ajopart says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:09am

Great mood !

cimbaman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:21am

Read poetry, listen to relaxing music, and grow a tree while doing it.
This is game is perfect to play after a stressful day.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:45pm

What a lovely experience, really liked the mood and atmosphere.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:14pm

Man, what a fantastic mood and atmosphere this gives off! Lovely stuff, so relaxing and interesting! :D

Jan 5, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Really neat experience! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/DUttdjt5uB4

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]