Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Space Dual

by DifferentName - Compo Entry

A little deck building card game. Your deck grows in size, and the power of your abilities grows.

HOW TO PLAY---
Left Click chooses the big card on the left. Right Click chooses the big card on the right.

Left cards give you resources. Right Cards use those resources to attack the enemy. Right cards also give you one turn of immunity against matching color attacks.

Attacks take 3 turns to get to the enemy, so you can compare your options and the enemies options to make sure you have resources when your attacks will be most effective (giving yourself immunity against the enemy, and preventing the enemy from being immune to your own attacks).
----

The game is a bit odd, but there's some strategic decision making to be had if you're up for it. If you have questions about the gameplay, let me know. I'm happy to answer any questions.

I forgot to allocate time for sound. I seriously need to remember to do that next time.

*Oops
- I thought I made it so the enemies health went up each time you beat it and got a new enemy, but I missed that, so it's pretty easy. I read that it's ok to fix crash bugs, so I fixed some crashes and updated the file, but I think the health and other little things would have to wait for post jam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#463Overall3.25
#490Graphics3.07
#498Innovation3.13
#514Theme3.69
#649Mood2.73
#674Fun2.88
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

timeshapers says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:15pm

I also made a deck building game. Your take is very interesting.

Unfortunately, I think that due to the enemy having 5 hp to your 12 or so, most decisions are meaningless, and you can just attack when you have resources and just take the damage.
Also seem to be a few bugs, like getting stars on the left, and going to minus resources.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:18pm

A little bit confusing, but good work!

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Neat idea for a card game, but I have a few questions:
Could you post a more detailed tutorial? E.g. what cards do I start with, how (and where) exactly does a card go when it's played and when not and (most importantly) when is the game over?

walaber says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:27pm

cool idea! it would help a lot if there was more feedback and sequencing when each hand is played, to make it more clear what's happening.

DifferentName says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:45pm

@timeshapers Sorry, I meant to have enemy HP go up too, but didn't realize it wasn't happening till it was too late. I also planned to do something more interesting with negative resources (making you vulnerable to take extra damage or something like that), but ran out of time, leaving that part just unfinished seeming like a bug. I'll check out your game too!

@chriiis88 Cards you use or buy go to a discard pile (which is invisible), then get reshuffled into a new deck each time you buy a card. Card buys happen every 4+ turns (increasing the number of turns between card buys as you go). After you beat an enemy, your decks stay the same, but the enemy respawns with randomized cards.

@Walaber Thanks. I agree, a little feedback goes a long way. I wish I had more time to focus on that so it's clear what's happening more often.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:20pm

This is a really cool idea, but I want more from it. The enemy hp not increasing while yours does results in a difficulty curve with a negative slope. The mechanics are fun, and it's satisfying to deliver a devastating combo while anticipating an blocking enemy attacks. I want to see more cards than just attack/resource, though, to push the action. Like a shield that blocks anything but can't attack, an attack that moves faster than usual. A two-player mode would be a welcome addition as well.

Crazi456 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Took a sec to figure it out, but had fun playing once I did!

nucleartide says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:43am

It took me awhile to figure out the rules, but great game! I've never seen card games in a LD before, so this is very refreshing.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]