Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Mr. Brian

by muit - Compo Entry

Good Morning, Mr. Brian.
Are you ready for the daily judgments?

Choose between the options and discover the different endings.
Hope you like it!

Controls:
A - Left Button
D - Right Button
Escape - Pause menu

Report bugs please.
@muitxer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#88Theme4.21
#181Mood3.46
#220Humor2.96
#285Audio3.08
#331Overall3.43
#397Graphics3.25
#413Innovation3.25
#492Fun3.14

Comments

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:54am

Hey dude, Your game looks interesting, however I didn't want to download megaSync just out of caution. If you upload it some other way, let me know and Ill play it!

madcoil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:57am

Cool theme and take on the theme. Shame it was so short as I think it didn't reach a proper conclusion. I had some bugs, for example my mouse cursor was gone after the ending and I couldn't press any of the UI buttons or quit the game.

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:58am

Can't seem to be able to restart or exist in the end screen. Otherwise very interesting game.

muit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:00am

Thats being fixed now, thanks :P

Gyfis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:04am

Good game! Very short, but interesting. With longer gameplay, this would make a very nice Oculus Rift experience :)

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:16am

Good job! I was left wanting more at the end, which is a testament to how good it is!

muit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:19am

Thanks! Really apreciate that.

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:26am

Really loved the aesthetic and audio. Not sure I could find much meaning behind any of the dialogue, but the premise was intriguing.

Virgil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:37am

Loved the clean and focused environment and the music, but the game was short. I'd wish to have more cases haha

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:43am

Takes too much time to play. Make it fasterrrrrr or the game will be boooriiing!

muit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:51am

Yeah, maybe, thanks for the feedback.

Coomzy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:14pm

I liked how you went for something different, however a few notes:

1. Typing was too slow, (Was quite frustrating playing the second time.
2. Too short, I know it's a game jam but I didn't have enough content to get properly into it.

Maybe if there way more, I could give a little more feedback, however on what you have good job :D

RPGghut says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Epic game, awesome use of the theme. I loved the audio and the graphics, great job. It would be cooler if it had some form of story in it.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Had problems with being unable to click the GUI buttons (play etc.). Nice style though, interesting idea, just not enough content... I wanted more :)

I'd just like to know how the items that fell into the room related to the content? I couldn't figure out a link.

muit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:41am

Yeah, couldn't add more content becouse of the compo, anyway thanks for the feedback. Will add a skip feature to make it faster.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:05am

funny to play!

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Quite good. Some glaring grammatical errors aside it was entertaining. Would have been much better with voiced narration instead of reading slow typed text.

Auroz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Interesting idea. It felt a bit boring though, because the text came up so slowly and there was no way to skip it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]