Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rooter

by AuthorX - Jam Entry

My LD entry, Rooter.

Originally planned to have obstacles (rocks) generated, but I ran out of time to implement and rushed to revert it to a working(?) state.

This is my second LD entry, and the first to be in a working/playable state, so I'll take it even though playing it is trivial.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#623Theme(Jam)3.57
#849Graphics(Jam)2.71
#976Mood(Jam)2.24
#1016Innovation(Jam)2.10
#1059Overall(Jam)2.52
#1072Fun(Jam)2.05
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16am

cool concept, a bit lacking in gameplay though. Really like the animations on the roots

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:19am

Good idea, but as you said a bit trivial

Ryusui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:27am

Controls are a little confusing. Also, I completed a stage and got a "You Win" message which was immediately followed by "You Failed." :(

Somnium says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35am

Nice idea, and I liked the graphics (especially the root animations).

The game seemed to occasionally ignore/"revert" keypresses for changing direction.

That said, congratulations on getting the game to a point where it is a finished (if simple) state!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:57am

Hey, congrats on your first LD in a working/playable state! :D

I'll make a suggestion on a simple change that I think could make this better: right now, it's (as you say) trivial to play the game and win. You could easily change that by making the root grow, say, five to ten times faster than it currently does. Then people have to pay attention and try to turn just at the right time to maximize their score!

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:29am

It would be cooler if the root grew faster.

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:36am

there is potential but no real gameplay.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:22am

Love the root animation! I like the innovation in your control style. How do you give 3 options with 2 keys on a square grid? It may be ultimately a little hard to control though, or at least to get it to do what you want, but then that is part of the challenge.

Caspila says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:26am

I think you needed at least to trigger game over when the root tries to cross itself.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:40am

Two themes in one! well done :D

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:45pm

I think grid based level hurts gameplay, it would be more challenging, if you could turn at any moment. Right now it's to trivial to get max possible score. The randomly generated obstacles would also force Player to think on his feet.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Cool idea! The root animation is just lovely

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]