Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Jumping World Burns

by mrjorts - Compo Entry

Here's a two button platformer where you start out without your abilities and have to find them around the level. It plays on both the two button and growing themes.

I tried to come up with interesting levels based on restricting certain abilities, although the level design was the thing that suffered most due to time.

NOTE: I was only able to test the mac build of this. It's Unity, so the Windows and Linux ones should work fine, but please let me know if there's a problem with them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#59Theme4.29
#148Humor3.24
#199Innovation3.64
#214Overall3.60
#297Fun3.40
#336Audio2.96
#444Mood3.00
#526Graphics3.00

Comments

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36am

Linux version doesn't work on :(

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:52am

Very sorry, batmanasb! I forgot to include the data folder in the Linux version, but I fixed it and updated the link. Thank you for trying the game! Let me know if there are any other problems running it.

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:07am

a good platformer. control on two buttons - heavy. lack of jump button

TheFudster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:24am

Ok so at first I thought the two button jump thing was awful... and maybe it kinda was haha. It was awkward at first but after I got the hang of it it was actually fun. The different abilities and the humor made it a really good experience. Well done.

quill18 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:25am

I'm impressed by how many functions you fit into 2 buttons!

Mixer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27am

Heh, this was funny! Dialogues were cool, even if the graphic for them was basic. Liked the little power up things, (wings, lightning bolt etc). Music was nice too.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:55am

Played on Mac. Great concept and I like the tutorial because you taught all of the controls in a fun way. I used Unity too. What did you use for the music?

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:06am

Thanks for the comments, everyone :)

Fudster, I agree that the controls might not be great :p I wanted to try using both themes, so I stuck to 2 buttons, but if I were to keep developing the game I'd give it more traditional controls.

Garrison, for the music in the levels I used an iPad program called Korg Gadget. Really good for quickly making synthesizer music. The music in the menu is just a guitar with 3 different reverbs put on top of it.

fiddenmar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:30am

The idea is great, two buttons functionality is full and perfect here.

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:37am

The combinations of movement and functions just off of 2 controls is amazing. Great work!

davesoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Awesome use of controls, would be easier on a control pad, but that's the fun :D

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Nice game, almost endless possibilities if you develop further.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Nice game with a great concept, and your touch of humor was very usefull on your game, it brang me some happyness :D

RPGghut says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Nice platformed, you used the theme pretty well with the controls and you have great audio.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Good use of the theme, having multiple abilities but all still activated by the two keys. You explained and introduced them all clearly through the game which was a plus.

I thought you did a really nice job having different mixes of the abilities across the levels and making puzzles out of them. Things like having the double/air jump but no regular jump were a clever twist.

I felt like there was a bit of an issue with the character losing momentum when trying to move through the air sometimes so if you were to come to this, I'd suggest taking a look at making the controls a little tighter.

Good stuff, well done! :)

Donar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Since I also made a two button platformer, I was interested in other approaches and this one is actually pretty great. It is sometimes a bit hard to control (e.g. when you want to double jump and suddenly dash in the opposite direction) but at least you found a lot of ways to navigate through the level.

You definitely put a lot of effort into it. When I look at the black and white mini levels from my game, I think that this one was 10 times the work.

Overall great entry!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Shortly became very interesting and enjoyable, it was quite hard to do wall jumping, double jumping and dashing all at the same time with two keys but that's what made it cool! The checkpoints were also amusing!

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:14am

Best implementation of the two button theme I've seen so far. Really enjoyable game with some interesting puzzles and mechanics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]