Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Binary Tree

by pparke - Compo Entry

It's an L System disguised (thinly) as a game! Write the rules and your tree will grow. There is a helpful starter rule provided but see if you can do better.

Warning: LOUD AUDIO!

Controls:
J - hold down to scroll left, tap to change symbol
K - hold down to scroll right, tap to change symbol
Space or click - start the game, start growing the tree, restart


Tools used:
Phaser
Aseprite
BFXR
Atom
Fonts from google fonts

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#116Innovation3.81
#233Theme4.00
#517Mood2.91
#558Graphics2.96
#641Audio2.17
#767Overall2.89
#925Fun2.19

Comments

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:58am

so loud! takes too long as well

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57am

Really cool idea! I had fun paying with it. Also, yay Phaser!

I'd love to see a fork later with more general controls. Systems like these are buckets of fun to play with.

I'm also reminded of strugges to get balancing right with AVL trees, haha.

pparke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:15pm

I was just thinking about reworking it to have a play mode where you control the tree as it grows. Sort of writing the axiom as you grow the tree and then letting it rip for a few iterations to see how it develops. Could even continue from where you left off by using the last position on the tree as the starting point for the next one and simply panning and zooming to reset the play field.

SadSmile says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:15pm

RIP Headphone users

kepons says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Good thing other users warned me about the sounds.

I feel like this game had a great concept, but it was very hard to grasp. Otherwise, I liked the setting.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:38pm

very interesting, cool concept, well done

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Nice to see an interactive L-system, pretty cool

pparke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Sorry about the sound volume everyone, it was the last thing in and got the least attention and testing.

shiny says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:03pm

I'm afraid, I'm just not smart enough to figure out this game... :(

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:31am

A bit confusing at first, but getting the hang of it!

laFunk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:44am

I have no idea what I'm doing and I'm a RIP headphones user lol but this is very cool! Good work!

rantt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:25am

Cool concept, fun to just set it up and watch it go. Fun game, nicely done :)

Hegemege says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Phaser huh? We had a similar idea too!

It was a bit chaotic and couldn't really understand what the different configurations did. RIP headphones indeed

Terrabalt says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:44am

Good god, i should've listened when you said "loud audio"
Interesting game, though the growing could be skipable, or at least faster.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]