Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bee Cannon

by MPCherry - Jam Entry

This is no ordinary bee colony. This colony has the power of the Bee Cannon! Use it to shoot your bees at flowers and collect honey. Avoid flowers that birds have landed on.

Controls:
J - Hold and release to launch bees
F - Add bees to the cannon

The game was made in Java with libGDX.

Edit: Fixed a bug causing the game to crash when the player loses.

Team:
Chris Goosen
Matthew Cherry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#310Theme(Jam)3.90
#371Fun(Jam)3.33
#426Humor(Jam)2.79
#475Overall(Jam)3.36
#514Innovation(Jam)3.14
#518Mood(Jam)3.21
#557Audio(Jam)2.90
#699Graphics(Jam)3.09
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

EMPBomber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Great game! Love the art and audio.

Juin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Nice Gameplay, but the constant bee sound was annoying the music was good though. That the game just shuts itself off if you lose i guess is really weird.

MPCherry says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:03am

@Juin, that's definitely a bug! There is in fact a game over screen, or at least there should be.

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:35am

Even though the graphics and sound is sub par, I had a lot of fun!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:26am

nice graphics and sound, if a hummingbird happens to eat ALL your bees then you have to wait for the honey count to go down.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Good game, looks easy at the beginning but become quickly challenging. Good pixel art graphics, but annoning bee sounds... anyway, good job overall, I've had fun ^^

Auroz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Really fun game, but the bee sounds got a bit annoying after a while.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Cute, enjoyable little game! Good idea executed pretty well.
Though the audio was a headache for me, very loud and coarse.

Joror says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:13am

Fun base for a game, but there are some things holding it back:
- your bees take -a lot- of time to return. That is me doing nothing.
- if a bird eats all your bees? what then?
- I want to get more bees, how?
- Damn birds need to be gone! Add a way to defeat / run off birds.
- More bees, that screen needs to be fully abuzzing, and me doing alot of beeshootin'

Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:51am

Nice concept following the theme.

Since you're also using libGDX, why not make a web version available as well?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]