Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Charge!

by randomhuman - Jam Entry

Help Einar the Bald expand (GROW, eh? EH?) his territory and amass a large pile of plunder in this hacky-slashy endless runner.

Based on the two button control theme.

Currently only the Mac build is tested. I discovered last minute that the UI was not working fullscreen at all resolutions, so running windowed is recommended. If running fullscreen, do so at your full resolution.

Update: Graphical glitches in web version are fixed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#102Fun(Jam)3.76
#219Humor(Jam)3.28
#296Theme(Jam)3.92
#390Overall(Jam)3.44
#395Audio(Jam)3.23
#435Graphics(Jam)3.61
#647Mood(Jam)3.05
#828Innovation(Jam)2.65

Comments

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Nice work. :)

sirono says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:39pm

It is Fun! Although it is still some display bug in the game.

dusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:41pm

nice game.. vikings are so in, this year :)
btw. have same issue with WebGL animated sprites, no idea what is going on, so I published WebPlayer at least

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Nice work! I liked the colorfulness of the scenery and Einar's comments at the beginning.

lordsavage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Well done, this is a neat game - your parallax'n of the mountains etc was subtle but really nice.

Firellon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51pm

It's fun, but requires you to be rather quick, as arrows fly quite fast. Disappointed with a graphic of shielded viking, though. Overall good.

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Not to bad at all. I used the Web version on a windows box without any issues I could find. Bit difficult to avoid the archers but that's probably just because I suck at it :) I enjoyed it

Oski says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Sounds were a bit too loud for me.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59pm

@dusho Ha ha, all aboard the bandwagon!

I've tried a WebPlayer build as well and it has the same glitch, but white instead of black :S I might just remove the web link until I can figure out what's going on...

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Simple and fun, does the job very well, could use a little more variety and he should do those funny battlecries more often than just at start, heh

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Great submission. Its fun and challenging. I am not sure why I am murdering monks. I guess thats what vikings do :) The arrow guys can be pretty tough to defeat as things heat up.

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08pm

very challenging game, realy liked simple and fun the archers are realy hard to pass but it is possible just very hard haha nice work!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:47pm

I will feast in Valhalla tonight!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Absolutely loved the mechanics and the battlecries at the beginning were pretty amusing.

andyman404 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:55am

By Loki's Thighs! That was a challenging but fun game.

TRAB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:00am

Not incredibly theme-based or innovative, but a very good feeling game with a ton of polish. Killing is fun, defending is SUPER fun when you time it just right. And I love both the random phrase generator at the beginning and the snark at the end. Nice work!

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:43am

really fun game with a simple concept that allows players to understand controls within seconds, but allows for a surprising amount of challenge.

every time I died [which happened a lot haha], it felt like completely my fault. The game seemed very forgiving, and yet still tough and fun, which is a tough thing to make, especially in 72 hours.

Great work, this was a surprisingly solid little game! :)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:54pm

I played this for way longer than I should've, got an eventual score of 27, I was happy to be awaited in Valhalla. :D Great fun.

phi6 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Great simple endless runner, nice colour scheme. Web version works nicely. Some screenshake would add a bit of juice to the feel of it. Overll, good job!

Gyfis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Love the theme of Vikings! Also good game mechanism "learn by dying" :)

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:47am

I liked the graphics, and the game itself was very polished. The screen shake was a nice touch too :).
Good job!

wilsk says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:16pm

A fun infinite runner with nice looking graphics. The volume of the "ping" sound effects was pretty loud compared to the music.

Adreqi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Fun and efficient infinite runner, running and controls are reactive, I like it :)

Maybe sound effects are a little too loud compared to the music.

lawendt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Loved everything. I bet this will get even better with more enemies and more mechanics. Keep up with the good work!

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:48pm

I'm from Denmark so it's nice to know how it was like when my ancestors were looting christians in England and stuff :)
Really great game! Love the mechanics and use of theme! 5/5

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:45pm

@SK16 Games Guaranteed 100% historically accurate ;)

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Thanks all for the kind words and feedback. I think I might expand on this one a little bit over the next few months.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Really liked the game, it is simple but cool. I think the sounds could be better, because it's repetitive. With more type of enemies, effects and a good use for the money you can release it in mobile. Congrats, good job!

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Vikings FTW! Want it for my iPhone right now!

Zyow says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Simple but effective. I love the theme! Nice work!

AsixJin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:17am

This was simple and very fun. I like the way the two button theme was used for the sword and shield.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:48am

Nice endless runner here :D. Mechanics is simple but effective!

Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:47am

FANTASTIC! I could play this for hours!

suppi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:13pm

I like it. the colors blends really well, the music is good and the game is quite interesting. good job!

Weloxux says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Lovely little game!

High score: distance 446, plunder 4200, kills 31

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Simple and efficient, but the sound effects where a bit harsh

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:24am

It would be nice if you would have mentioned the controls somewhere :)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:58am

I felt like I was Ragnar from the TV Series! People will enjoy this over mobile. Good job!

randomhuman says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:16am

@Anshul Goyal They're on the title screen...

Krafty says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 5:38am

This game was pretty cool and fun, although it got a bit boring after a little bit. I thought it was funny and I liked the graphics and music! Great job! :)

scorched says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Nice, the music IMHO doesn't suit well the violent game

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Feels a bit empty but somehow keeps you playing. Good work!

local minimum says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:55pm

Great controls and nice graphics. The timing of then enemies was also really well made as well as the difficulty progression. I got to 19 kills. Would have been cool with some global ranking for it of course, or at least personal high score.

That one actually had to kill the archers were a bit surprising first time I failed to do that, though it makes great sense from the difficulty perspective. It would help with some animation of the archer whipping the character over the head as he falls down. To make it more logical.

One thing I would urge you to fix too would be to either automatically with a bit of delay just restart the game upon death or have either of the two buttons used to play also allow to retry. I find it critical in these types of fast play-fail-retry type of games to minimize the effort and time between plays. Don't let the player escape wanting to just play one more time.
In general a very solid made entry.

randomhuman says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:09pm

@local minimum That's good advice, thanks.

sandbaydev says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Interesting entry. I can imagine the speed increasing faster and faster and then with accurate controls you try get more and more points. Well done entry.

Mar 30, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Good game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]