Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Libellule Paradise

by SvenFrankson - Compo Entry

Hi,

Here's my humble entry for Ludum Dare 34, Libellule Paradise.

Control a Libellule using A and D, fly around flowers and catch coins !

Tip 1 : The longest [A] and [B] are pressed, the more you'll lean forward, thus lowering your altitude gain.

Enjoy a quiet flight around the island, get amazed by the colors flowing to your retina...

Thanks for your interest, feedback appreciated, have a nice day !

Sven Frankson
http://www.svenfrankson.com

----

Monday night, it's me again !

Have worked on a post-compo polished version of Libellule Paradize, you might try it as well if you wish :) Solve most difficulty issues, I guess ^^

Have a nice day, good luck everyone !

Sven Frankson

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#183Graphics3.76
#223Innovation3.59
#233Theme4.00
#316Mood3.22
#502Overall3.21
#566Humor2.19
#575Fun3.03
#615Audio2.26

Comments

mactinite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07am

Just an FYI, with the NPAPI plugins being discontinued in most browsers, I think it will be difficult for people to play your game. Try building for windows standalone at least so you have a fallback. :)

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:09am

Visuals are great, feels pretty polished and is a nice concept. Found the controls difficult to figure out initially. Nice use of the theme, as well. Great work! :)

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:10am

First off, brilliant interpretation of the theme. The flight model allows for smooth turning and moving forward.
Unfortunately, I couldn't find a way to gain altitude, and any attempt I made at flying eventually ended in a crash.

The model's a tad unintuitive; a tutorial, or at least a learning environment would've been appreciated.

Finally, after a crash there's really no way to recover. mashing both buttons only pushes you further into the ground if you're flipped over.

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04am

I love the use of the theme. Nice look and the camera motion was good. The score did get cut off in a weird way.

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:06am

Once I realized I needed to hold both A and D to rise, I had a lot of fun. The timers on the coins are a nice mechanic. Great work!

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:07am

Art looks amazing!!
It takes a while to understand how to control properly...
Please specify that you need to press both A+D to control the bug! :)

But amazing game! Nice work nonetheless

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:17am

This game has such potential, but I had difficulty controlling it in a browser. really great idea. loved the graphics. I had difficulty with depth perception, wasn't sure how close the coins were to me. Minor issue with graphics. Still rated it highly.

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:46am

I love the graphics and the idea is really innovative. The controls take some while to get used to, but all in all, it's a game worthy of everyone's attention.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:20am

Coll idea however, I really struggled. Had various collision detection issues, ended up on back and could not turn back. Controls in general I think need some tweaking. Overall good attempt considering the 48 hour timeframe. Some smaller challenges to start player of might be better.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:52am

I only got a score of 5. I didn't understand the controls at first, but they actually worked okay once I got the hang of them. Creative concept. The Unity plugin worked great in Firefox, by the way.

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Great job with all the graphics. I felt the two button control scheme was also a good idea.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Cute little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/vvV25Dw2BHg

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Love it! Amazing game, complicated controls well executed. Very well done, thank you.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Beautiful game! <3 But oof, it's pretty tough. Very innovative, nice work!

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Thank everyone for the feedback, especially concerning input toughness ^^', Jupi, loved the show rolling down the hill, thanks a lot !

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:55pm

I had trounble controlling the Libellule even after I figured out how it's supposed to work but the game(especially the polished version) looks great!

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:14am

Really really good! Controls felt nice!

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:06am

Who would have thought it's possible to make a 3D flying game with only two button controls. You nailed the flying mechanics.

EwChap says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:31am

Loved the flight mechanics. It clicked right away and felt really floaty but in a good way. I wish there was a bit of a speed up or slow down mechanic but overall really nice.

triello says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Great entry, man!

Congratulations!

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:48am

Love the graphics! It was fun flying around. :)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:03am

Beautiful game, but the controls were a bit hard.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]