Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ending

by marmpa - Jam Entry

Timelapse link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QQBSJf04j80

The game is called ending for one reason. The game ends after some time. Now about what my game is about. I took both themes and made this masterpiece. First of all there are only 2 controls. The arrow button "left" and the arrow button "right". The button left changes what the button right does. The are 3 stages in which the right button can be in the stage "left" in which it moves to ball to the left.The stage "up" which lifts the ball to the air and makes it go upwards and the button "right" which makes the ball go right. The 3 stages are indicated at the top left corner. So by pressing the "left" arrow you cycle through the stages. The other feauture of the game is that there is also a button indicator on the top right corner. Its use is to obstract the screen so that you cant complete the goal. The goal is to go to every platform at least once and in order for you to know that you have already gotten there there are indicator also.Finally the game is over when the button indicator obstract the hole screen. I would like to let you know that it is my first game and i have puut my heart and soul in it. Please don't be indimidated by the graphics purely but take on concideration the theme and the work put behind it. Thanks for your support. To run it you need to unzip the files and run the "ending.exe". It was made using the love2d plugin o lua. To run on other platforms use the "ending.love" file either rename it to .zip so it will become from "ending.love" to "ending.zip" and extract it files into a folder.Download love2d zip or tg or whatever operation system you have and follow love2d how to run on <my platform>.Thanks again

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#442Theme(Jam)3.75
#615Audio(Jam)2.71
#848Innovation(Jam)2.61
#1000Mood(Jam)1.96
#1056Fun(Jam)2.18
#1083Overall(Jam)2.43

Comments

Allthebees says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38am

The idea of using 2 buttons for many controls is really cool and fits the theme well.I like the simple artstyle for the game too.
When I play I have a bug where the image in the top right hand of the screen keeps expanding obscuring the right hand side of the game.

peterfsat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:16am

Good game, love the difficulty (SPOILER: really hard!!)

mathijs750 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:43am

The controls were a bit difficult to understand. Also the image on the top right kept growing an blocking my view. I couldn't finish. Nice music though.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:06pm

The theme is used well, and the game is quite hard. But the game isn't really fun, because the ball is hard to control. (and yeah, there is a bug with the sprite at the top right of the screen, he's expanding)

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Interesting use of the theme but it does make for tedious game play. The ever-expanding direction indicator in the top right is an interesting touch. Music and sounds were great though.

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Nice game, but very hard to control well, the countdown is not very intuitiv ^^

I had a nice expérience overall ^^

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Hard and Fun. Nice done.

utgarda says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Yup, 2 buttons it is, and it is quite hard. Not exactly obvious what grows - is that the movement force over time?

themadknights says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Maybe, you should remove the theme "Growing" in your game, because is annoying and give nothing to the game.

Btw, the game is fun :) hard but fun so great work

wandernauta says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Hmm, it seems this game has been entered into the Audio category, but the music appears to be by Kevin MacLeod, which I don't think is you. Are you sure that's correct?

radmars says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:07pm

took a while to get used to controls but was pretty interesting once you do... little hard to make a precise move still

josefnpat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:44pm

It took me a while to figure out the mechanics, but I think I got them. Good visual feedback, but I'm not sure forcing in the "growing" theme really made the game better. Nice job!

puddelipip says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Damn you index finger and your automatic reactions to move an item.
Really nice and annoying (in a good way) difficulty, thanks for an interesting concept!

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Two buttons theme use in this one is really great, but growing graphic is just irritating - in fact, I thought it was a bug at first. Graphics are very basic, but I get that they're not really a focus.

marmpa says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Thanks for all the feedback.I really like that people spend some of the time to look at my game.I know that the game is not close to even being perfect.But for now that is the best i can do.After i just staqrted programming games. Be sure that next round the game i submit will be much better.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:19am

This might be one of the better uses of two buttons I've seen so far. As much as I like the music, it feels sort of out of place.

RHY3756547 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:34pm

I don't understand what the point of the growing button indicator is, and the point when it covers the "hole" screen looks like it will be sometime tomorrow at this rate. The game itself is quite fun to play, the problem is that things aren't making much sense right now.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]