Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cave Swing

by ajmalr - Compo Entry

Developed in 48 hours by me (https://twitter.com/AjmalRizni)

Point and click the left mouse button to shoot the rope and hold the right mouse button to reel yourself in.

Collect as many coins as you can and complete all the levels!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#88Fun3.80
#193Overall3.63
#365Audio2.88
#384Mood3.09
#410Graphics3.22
#428Theme3.80
#483Innovation3.15
#489Humor2.35
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:32am

Great game! I felt like by the 4th level I was really starting to get the swing (ehehhehe) of things. That narrow gap jump is a mean thing to do, though.

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:16am

I really wanted to be able to hold LMB to keep the rope there rather than press on and press off... but otherwise a good game :)

sputnik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:54pm

One of my best game so far. simple and addictive.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:55pm

I really like this game, but I think that it would work better with a timer in addition to the coins. That would get rid of the motivation to linger and slowly swing to get each and every coin.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Really interesting game mechanic. It can be used to make some cool mobile game.

someone says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Great game. Sometimes the collision and physics seemed a bit off but I really enjoyed playing it.
Could do with a coin counter and perhaps a timer for each level.

Melusine says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44pm

A very cool game. Love the swinging mechanics :D

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Love the visual style. It felt like there was a lag between releasing and another line coming out though, made it feel rather frustrating... but I can easily see how with a little tweaking this could be really addictive :)

grama says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:06am

I love the feel and the mood. I found it to be too difficult to keep me interested, but I see lots of potential. cheers!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:45am

Graphics are great, audio is great, game play is great! Really enjoyed trying to finish each level

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:57am

Looks good and the gamelpay reminded me of floating point, just played that a few weeks ago.

The 2buttons controls where something to get used to and didn't feel intuitive at the start. After 2 minutes though, it somehow clicked and it becomes pretty satisfying. But when I think about it too much I just fail. It's weird.

I also discovered the point you click matters (could use some preview feedback). And I tried to left+right click and release at the same time, but then the grapple hook will still be out.

It's also not always obvious when you've hit something. You don't always hear a sound and because it keeps playing for a bit, you don't know.

I stopped at the level with the spike shapes though. I think it's the 4th at somepoint there's this one gap with a coin that I don't have to the patience for. I did discover losing your momemetum a bit and moving slowly through the levels helps a lot. Which I didn't expect for a rope swinging game.

I do like that it's made up of levels that asks various skills from you. after some time, swinging was satisfying and although it requires some slower precicion skill at some points (for me), it was still good.

Good job!
(and how much more levels are there?)

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:00am

Challenging and fun! Nice work! The mechanic works great with the theme.

ehgoodenough says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:57am

I liked the swinging mechanics! I'm surprised they worked as well as they did, considering the two-button limit.

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:35am

The rope physics are pretty cool. :) I was struggling so hard to get through that little gap before the title though, haha :D

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:44am

Very frustrating for me, I can't get past the 2nd level.

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:44pm

The music is a little bit repetitive, but the gameplay is efficient. Good job :) !

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Very addictive game! It`s very fun to play it. Good job!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:29am

Cool little game. The shoot and reel mechanic feels solid, challenging and nicely done, but I feel it would be better if shooting and releasing was done by holding the mouse button instead of clicking once and then clicking again. Also, maybe you could add something to motivate the player to keep going forward and not loose too much time trying to get all the coins, but that's just a matter of taste in game design.

Good job, keep it up!

Xgor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:45am

Quite fun game that reminds me a lot of my own due to the setting and that you have to hook to the surfaces.

ajmalr says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone, keep it coming! I'm taking all of your comments into consideration while expanding the game for Android.

Backterria says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Nice implemented controls.Simple but they work great!

the-arrival says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Really really fun and a good theme-entry. Awesome and one of the few two-buttons game wich is just great fun!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Love the idea. If it was a little more forgiving I think I could have played for hours. Very addicting

KZdev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Fun but really hard, I couldn't get past level 2.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:31pm

awesome! very clever game, cool use of physics, and like many have also said, this is a great idea for a mobile game, good job :)

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:13pm

That was pretty fun! Very hard to avoid the rocks while you're swinging, but I liked the challenge and the use of physics. It's a bit too simple to be a Windows only game, would definitely like to see this as a web game.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:42am

I like the mechanics but it was too hard for me :( I guess this could make a good mobile game. My favorite part was chosen colors. Music & sounds also went with style.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Look at meeee! I aaam spiiider maaaan! Look at me swiiii-POK.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Game mechanics has potential. It needs kinetik balance or some features for comfort game. Now level 4 is impossible tobeat becaus of bottleneck =(

Drury says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:20pm

A pretty nice roping game with a simplistic aesthetic. It's kinda weird how you fall off the the level at the end but that's the charm of LD games.

elliottd says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:00pm

nice game. I like the sounds and the colours you used. The swinging is compelling with a lot of possible variation. I felt a bit of strangeness sometimes: the rope attaching to the ceiling below my cursor when I am pointing at a wall, abrupt change in velocity when you let go of right click (sometimes this feels good, and gives a lot of control too though), the rope will push you to the side when you swing on a point lower than you.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:35am

really cool game - love the mechanic - gonna add to my play again list

crazya02 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:59am

Cool stuff. The music gets a bit repetitive after awhile though.

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Nice game and interesting concept Ajmal! Like sydan said it would be better if the rope worked with holding LMB instead of clicking it on and off. Also had some sort of infinite loop by shooting the rope at the end of the level.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Well made, challenging game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/6QI1ZQ7v1fA

01010111 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:00pm

I really loved this game! I got stuck and frustrated in the 3rd level, but I think if I were to play some more and really get the controls down it wouldn't be a problem. I would love to see a post-jam version with tweaked controls! (I also felt like holding down the left button to attach the rope and releasing to release would feel more natural) Great work!

Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:10am

It's cool, but I wish there was more momentum behind your swings. It kinda hurts the flow of the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]