Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Deck the Halls with Nightmares

by thetenthsicarius - Compo Entry

My first game ever!
It's text only, but not quite interactive fiction?
Very short, definitely a work in progress.
P.S. I managed to do both themes! Woo!
(Source is part of my .zip file)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#759Theme3.33
#778Innovation2.60
#782Fun2.67
#898Overall2.60
#2073Coolness26%

Comments

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:47pm

why did you make a batch script? it's scary to open xD

In all seriousness, it was a fun game, and I hope you make your next game, a little less looking like a virus :p thankfully I know that language, and I didn't find anything dangerous in your file :D (That's a note to everybody! It's safe!)

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:00pm

never mind batch :p I saw python on my title now. Still good job!

Zer0li says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48pm

I really like text based games. You should keep on working on this one and give as a bit more information about the story and stuff that happens. Possibly more decision possibilities and more text. Good job!

issa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:24pm

I would suggest using Twine for this kind of game, more accessible for end users.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:09am

Kind of short, but was a interesting idea / story, nicely done. For your first game, you did a pretty nice job, and congrats on actually finishing something!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:37am

thank you everyone for your kind words!
1. apologies for the scary .exe, I've really only just started and that was the method most accessible to me; that said, as i continue learning i'll definitely be sure to learn better distribution methods along the way, including Twine, as you (@issa) suggested.
2. i'm definitely planning on expanding on the game for more learning and practice, so thanks for the support! sorry for the brevity, it took a lot more effort than i thought it would, despite being pretty remedial even by my own beginner standards, in terms of code at least

Dohxis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Could you please make Linux version? I don't think it would be that hard :P

Shovix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:16pm

i like the idea

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:27pm

That was pretty good, considering the limits you had with being purely text based. Liked some of the humour as well!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:49am

Interesting concept. Might help to print out the die rolls "visually", so you could make the explanations shorter.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]