Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

zxgame

by XRQTQMWQXNYL - Jam Entry

z rotate left
x rotate right
both to move
reach exit for next level.


added post contest version with tutorial and different levels.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#790Theme(Jam)3.32
#889Innovation(Jam)2.52
#969Graphics(Jam)2.26
#1051Fun(Jam)2.20
#1064Overall(Jam)2.50

Comments

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Level design could've use more work. I didn't quite get how to kill enemies (shoot). Felt repetitive.

zzapp says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:18am

Confusing overall, I wasn't really sure what the goal was after exiting 10+ levels and I had no score. Adding to that it seemed to repeat levels at times.
While killing the enemies rewarded points(?) Shooting seems to happen at random and it was next to impossible to aim.
A lot of potential and I like the idea of escaping the level dodging enemies, but overall it could use work.
Some more polishing and it could be a real fun game though.

TeamOliphants says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:26pm

I agree with both of the above comments. I didn't even know if I was shooting since I couldn't see the bullets on the light blue background. Also starting out half in the walls on some levels was really disorienting.

radmars says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:43am

Nice job getting the moving parts together - controls, AI, etc. The game could definitely use a bit of help on the visual communication side; it took me a few moments to notice the bullets and health bars doing their things. Also, wasn't sure how to go in reverse? Sometimes it seemed to happen randomly.

After a few tries I learned how to strategize a bit- keeping myself from being overwhelmed by enemies by hiding around corners, etc.

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:00pm

I can see there were lots of work here (especially AI) but the levels felt weird, so do the hitboxes, something is not good and the game feels pretty unfair :( But I checked the post jam version and everything feel way better. It was maybe just a little too ambitious for a 72h game. Anyway, nice work. I want to see what you'll do for the next jam :)

kmakai says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Interesting concept here, I think there's definitely something to it if developed more. Definitely a good start getting something playable with an objective and a failure state submitted, so great job in that regard! Keep at it.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Bullets and floor have bad contrast. Wish there were instructions.

kowalski says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:15am

I found the game difficult and also the mechanics are not clear from the beginning. I'd really like to see a post-jam version of this game.

Farelle says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 9:11am

after 4 levels I couldn't get through the end level anymore, did not know if I need to do something else. The box was also quite often rotated into the wall when starting a new level and I got quite often stuck inside walls, which was annoying :/ sliding instead would have been nicer I think. Also it took me a while to realize that the red thing above my head is a healthbar, since it looked like the enemies.

ninos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:54am

The game looks nice, but next time you should probably put better instructions to make sure everyone can get what the game is about. Overall I like the game

Simonaiso says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:30am

Confusing at first, repetitive after finding out the mechanics. Nice idea of moving around with just two buttons!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]