Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Root-gen

by Chewie - Compo Entry

It's a game about strange white root growing & trying to reach the end of the caves.

Controls:
Left / Right arrows

No music or any other audio present in this build.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#133Graphics3.89
#161Theme4.09
#306Innovation3.43
#384Mood3.09
#388Overall3.35
#519Fun3.11

Comments

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:45am

This idea is great and innovative. However, the amount of energy gained when the orbs are collected is pretty unreasonable. Other than that, it's really awesome!

Dyn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Awesome visual style and simple yet cool idea of gameplay.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Nice gameplay and great visual style!

Borodar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Intriguing concept!

dvdking says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:55pm

I like how it really looks like a plant.

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:10pm

I love how it looks and feels! It really matches the theme perfectly! The art is also refreshing! Maybe some more game mechanics would be nice! Keep up the good work ;) !

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Really cool visuals. The wobbling takes a while to get used to but after that it's pretty fun.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Very nice art!

Beanallean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Cool game, the root is really pretty to look at. The restart button is slightly off centered when you die which confused me for a little bit on how to restart.

Blobo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53pm

I couldn't get used to the movement no matter how hard i tried. the graphics looked really cool, and it's a shame i couldn't get far.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Nice style, actual impression of some strange root/mycelium.

Sometimes growth direction changes by itself right near the obstacle, giving almost no time to react.

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:55pm

This is a super fun game, darn roots keep getting me!

LudumFans says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59am

Awesome

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58am

Interesting and fun mechanic.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07pm

This roots look really good! The minimalist yet pretty graphics suit the game well. It's a shame the game is totally silent :/ My advice to you: Drop the buttons, clickable text is the future!!

elliottd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:12pm

I like how the wandering in your direction makes the simple turn-left-and-right controls interesting. good job on the growing animations. I wonder if having the end of the player show its direction (like an arrow head instead of a circle) would make it feel a little less out of control. some subtle ambient music or noise would have added some more mood. great work

Rialgar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:20pm

I made a video of me playing it: https://youtu.be/KVLRlym1o0g (still uploading at time of writing, should be done 90 minutes (12-16T00:30 CET), my upstream is slooooow)

I really liked it, it was fun to explore the cave and the tunnels, even if I randomly crashed into the wall because the random wiggle turned unexpectedly. Ideas for further awesomeness:

Adding a glow to the plants, I was thinking a bright bluish for the player and some dark purple for the obstacles.

Add some predictability to the wiggle, maybe follow a sine or another repeating wave that is only modified slightly by randomness?

Overall, Great Job! Congratulations on your first LD game. I hope you return.

Chewie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Thanks everyone!

For so much feedback and good ideas how to improve my game.
I'd like to spare some more time on it to add some elements like:
*Indicator of direction where root is moving to, hope that will make it easier to control it but stay chaotic
*Checkpoints system so you would not need to start from the beginning (and so it can be longer with more interesting twists and challenges)
*Visual effect of glow/light around root and spheres and maybe some POI on the level.

Maybe it'll become somewhat decent game someday =)

nopogo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Really cool to see a game that has the same idea as I had at its basis, but it turned out sooo differently :D really cool implementation. Love the art and the growing environment.

nopogo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:14pm

I am wondering, did you draw the root using unity's linerenderer? and how did you get the effect of the root gaining width over time?

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:52pm

nice use of themes and visually pleasing. good work :)

Chewie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:58pm

@nopogo yes, I was using modified trail renderer for the roots. Tweaked it's lifetime and that's it. You can check the source for more details.

cilerba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:45am

Super cool! I was already impressed with the growth of the plant, but once the walls started working against me, my jaw dropped. Fantastic work!

Joror says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:50am

I dig the visuals! A tune would be needed to complete the mood, which is nice.

Gameplay feels a bit in flux because the root random movement is a bit too much, which is random-death when forced close to walls.
Love the growing of you own roots, very lovely effect.

Improvements: With the timer already providing a lose-condition, you could have removed the death-on-walls one.

drinkadriu says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:02am

Really cool

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Awesome visual style and simple yet cool idea of gameplay. I like aesthetic and the way you manage the root. No music?

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:39pm

Neat graphics, cool game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/3B2_gBg5rhI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]