Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Village

by adaFish - Jam Entry

A game about going ham and growing your community using two controls.

Controls
---------
Left Joystick || WASD || Arrow Keys will move you.
'A' || Left Click || Space will everything else you.

Music: Running Waters by Jason Shaw

Everything else: Jeffrey Harper (@jeffdevsitall) and Ada Fisher (@ada_astar)

Models Jeff made are available for free here: https://skfb.ly/J9KB

UPDATES: Fixed bug with unlock order the occasionally broke win condition (oops). Fixed materials for ham & coins.

Original file here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BxXmZYd_KaXOQkgyNmtzVm9LUjA/view

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#367Humor(Jam)2.90
#476Innovation(Jam)3.20
#507Mood(Jam)3.22
#723Graphics(Jam)3.04
#827Overall(Jam)2.98
#889Fun(Jam)2.66
#909Theme(Jam)3.07

Comments

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:18am

I liked the look of this game, the textured ground was striking and the shapes were nice. I got four people but couldn't see how to get more. I didn't recall getting gold, but first the banker didn't like, then he said something about having coins, yet didn't follow me back to town like the others. So I wandered a while with the farmer feeling tied down and the banker not talking at all.

Cool concept but I think the slow calm movement speed eventually made it too ponderous to keep searching yet again.

Nice work though, it looks good and the camera's mechanics are interesting.

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08am

I really can't criticize this game for much other than the super slow movement of the player which really makes moving around and inviting shape-things to the village a huge pain. Other than that, though, it was a really innovative concept for a game.

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:03am

Interesting and funny little game. It is just a little slow going.

bearcabin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:05am

graphics reminded me of Reboot. had fun hamming it up

nodens says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:42am

This game really came together in its aesthetic. There was quite a bit of text, but everything was well explained and I enjoyed a the unique concept.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:20am

Very inovant, but movement are slow, which is probably a choice from you. Like the concept!

timeshapers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:36am

I had a surprisingly good time with this game. Nice writing, humour and atmosphere.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Great soothing music. The ground texture is a bit hard on my eyes, but that might be because it's late here.

zzapp says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:30am

It was a interesting concept and I had fun collecting all the shapes. Goodwork.

Tuism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:27am

So here is a JRPG type of fetch quest game. But JRPGs have a sense of progression between the DHL-style delivery of stuff, and those kinda form the meat of the game, while the "go here do that" form the bone of the game.

You have bones without meat, so I feel like I was just very slowly walking around and walking and walking.

The camera was a bit irritating, I don't see the point of it zooming into a level where I literally can't see anything around me. It might make sense if the game needed a tighter view of your surroundings to find stuff, or something.

The lack of direction made it REALLY tedious. I don't know where I'm going, and that really sucks. Imagine a click-everywhere adventure game but instead of a mouse cursor, you have a slowly moving cursor controlled by arrow keys. This is that. I want to at least know where I should be looking, which direction/area, etc.

Then the solve mechanism is very unclear, and seems broken sometimes. For example the guy who wants fire, I should have found fire, the game tells me I have fire, then I use the fire to get to him. Instead I meet a guy who says he has fire, then I lead him back to the village, no message of success, I don't know what's going on, then I go to the guy who wants fire, and all of a sudden I am making fire. The causality here doesn't make sense. The same with the coin guy.

The last person who's "tied down"... I couldn't be bothered to search the entire map for something I have no clue about so I left.

Good exercise in game design, I hope you learned something out of it :)

oz2mura says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Charming dialogue, hamming it up, chilling and growing my village of shapes. I suppose a run button would've sped up the process when I got stuck, but otherwise, enjoyed it.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:31am

I filled my village with people!:D I don't know what to tell you that @Tuism didn't already say. Well I guess I could say that a game like this needs more of an ending than just going back to the main menu. Even if its just something simple like a screen that says "You have filled your village with people and they lived happily ever after". The way it ends now is a little abrupt. Other than that I really did enjoy playing and beating the game.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:55am

This really felt like a puzzle where you needed to figure out the sequence, which was fun, but the movement around the map being quicker might have helped keep up the pace. Really loved the writing, especially the guy who ended up coming to the town for the teacher, I had a good laugh at that one! Solid game guys!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:32am

Mood and music was wonderful. Had difficulty progressing, though.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:00am

I like the concept of you game, and the art of the house. Ground texture cute be more simpler like them from the house. Well done congrats!

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:06am

Funny, and well put together! I was confused about how to interact at first, but that's because I'm apparently shit at reading directions. xD

The movement and camera zooming did make things seem like they played a bit slow, but overall this was a fantastic entry. Well done!

Allthebees says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:43pm

The game is really intriguing. You've created a good atmosphere, I liked the very abstract feel. The gameplay didn't seem to work for me though, I think it was bugged because I restarted the game and the events didn't trigger when I spoke to the same people.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:19am

it certainly was very interesting - i like the mood and the interaction - just a little long - nice effort

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]