Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Downfall in Polarity

by danielsann7 - Jam Entry

Downfall in Polarity is a hardcore roguelike shmup-like

You are Booliver volt, a scientist in a digital world who jumps in a digital pit to reach your motherland's core which is being attacked by a horrible virus!
You must change the polarity of your character to avoid obstacles, and collect power ups to help in your journey through 3 levels and a boss level!

instructions:
left mouse: click or hold to move your character
right mouse:click to change the polarity (red polarity passes through red obstacles, and blue goes through blue obstacles).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#585Audio(Jam)2.79
#750Humor(Jam)2.17
#874Innovation(Jam)2.57
#918Mood(Jam)2.50
#924Graphics(Jam)2.45
#939Fun(Jam)2.57
#955Theme(Jam)2.93
#1022Overall(Jam)2.64

Comments

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Fantastic music, and very interesting gameplay mechanic. I love it!

Reisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Control doesn't work as advertised.
LMB : Hold to move and set polarity to blue
RMB : Hold to set polarity to red

Which simplifies this game to "Hold LMB and dodge red stuff".

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47pm

The hitbox is a bit odd, leading to quite a few deaths on the first level. And Level 2 is just straight up bonkers. And you have to restart on death...

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Really liked the sound and the gameplay idea is solid. However the controls seemed to let me down at odd times, once I figured out you actually have to move the mouse to move (otherwise you can only move left) I found that once I'd used the polarity switch once, the controls seemed to drag to the left. The only other gripe I have is that it got frustrating having only one life and having to return to the title screen and replay the story to get back into the game.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Nice music. And it's always great to have story even when the mechanics are simple. Like your "drawings" as well. Good entry :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:27pm

I really like the parallax background

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Liked the story and art, hated having only one life. Level 1 is slow and boring compared to the others, and they all seem to go on for a long time. Got as far as level 3.

The central mechanic is a nice idea, but the control implementation feels awkward.

elizeu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:02pm

I enjoyed the soundtrack, I am from Florianópolis and also spent the weekend working hard to join, great job

hoqjed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Cool concept! SO the menu has "history mode" which confused me, as I think a simple "Play" would do better.

Also, i got to the second level and just got destroyed right away. i think there needs to be more time for the player to react and there was too much on screen at the start.

Otherwise well done!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Takes a bit of time to get used to the controls and the hitboxes but when it gets faster and you feel at ease with the controls it's a lot of fun. I maybe would have still preferred that the character simply followed the mouse, it's still an interesting control scheme.

redzero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Awesome game!

loxo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Interesting idea. At first I didn't know how to start the game, because there is no play or start button. I tried History Mode and found the game.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:34pm

The music is a little bit too repetitive, the gameplay is simple but efficient. Well done :)

randomhuman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Graphics are simple but nice, and the music is great, but you can kind of just coast through a lot of the first level, and where there is a challenge it involves deciding whether to change polarity while still half-way through an obstacle. I like the idea, but I think this game could have been improved if it was twitchier, and more positive about its collision detection.

elizeu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Entao, eu nao sei tbm o que ta rolando, eu sou usuario de mac, compilei pra windows apenas para poder postar no LD, eu so tenho uma maquina com windows e nao estou conseguindo testar direito, se puder me ajudar entra em contato elizeu.nrj@gmail.com a versao android acredito que esteja funcionando né?

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:00am

I wish the game has a way to restart directly without passing the intro, but it has a good story and the gameplay is original. Nice one :)

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:02am

I liked the sound, the story was great, and the game design is really unusual and fun. I agree with other commenters that more lives and a faster restart would be great - it took me a bit to learn the controls and I just wanted to dive right back in after game overs!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:00pm

cool game, very simple but engaging, well done

monetai says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:35pm

A good idea, i like the sensations !

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:50pm

I get the idea and how it works with the theme. but really I can just hold LMB and dodge the red objects. too bad, cause I think it could've been fun changing colors around

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:38pm

I think it would be better if the color change was permanent. Also a checkpoint at the start of a level could be nice. I failed the second level immediately. Graphics and sound need rework. Also colliders were off I think. Expecting better next time!

JoseArias says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Nice game! Simple and challenging

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]