Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Fastest Trigger In The West

by Folztarg - Jam Entry

The Fastest Trigger In The West, is a game where you are a sheriff and have to fight against the bad guys, reflecting their bullets and shooting them.

We made this game for LudumDare 34, we hope you enjoy it!!!

The Team:

Igor de Souza (Game Designer and Artist) - folz.igor@gmail.com / @Igor_Folz

Lucas Dias (3D Artist and Animator) - djinf15@gmail.com

Jessé Santana (Lead Programmer) - jessesantana92@gmail.com

Gustavo Fráguas (Programmer) - gustavofraguas@gmail.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#91Audio(Jam)3.92
#132Overall(Jam)3.79
#141Fun(Jam)3.68
#167Innovation(Jam)3.65
#193Mood(Jam)3.65
#216Theme(Jam)4.03
#243Humor(Jam)3.19
#360Graphics(Jam)3.72

Comments

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:03am

It's pretty hard - I like it :D

goost says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08am

No life reg during opponent change? I was completely shoot down. Great!

Linkigi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14am

Great game. I like how the health carries over between rounds. It makes every fight count. It's difficult and kept me determined to keep trying. Really nice graphics and animations.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:16am

Really awesome game! It was really cool shooting bullets out of the air, and the combat was really original. Great job!

Acerio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17am

Very hard, great art style, and a good game overall.

Calvin B says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:28am

Super difficult but really fun. I kept wanting to try over and over, even though the first guy kept killing me.

dvdfu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:19am

Couldn't beat Muriel, but this is a really great and addicting game! Also, the music was fantastic! Great job.

Joror says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:38am

Great mood & graphics! Needs a little gameplay more depth perhaps, but that is what two button gunslinging brings ya. :D

beetracks says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:04am

Dammit! Muriel is invincible! Awesome game! Music, sound effects, graphics, gameplay, everything excellent! Congratulations!

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Pro:
+ Great and original concept
+ Awesome modelling and artwork
+ Great audio
Con:
- Sometimes my bullets would collide with each other
Obs:
o Couldn't get passed Muriel T_T

Awesome job!

Folztarg says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Thank you all for the feedback , it's really impressive that you liked .

Note :
I do not defeated Muriel too.

themadknights says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Awesome work guys! I love the idea of blocking bullets using bullets :D. It feels like a good finished game.

scorched says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Good idea! Wish there was healing between the rounds!

Dohxis says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Reminds me of that old shooting game I'd play on my old old console but with a twist! Definitely a very good idea, and I commend you for sticking with the 2 button controls, though It seems as though the player really isn't punished at all for spamming the buttons constantly, so the game really isn't all that challenging. A bullet count just like for the enemies would be far more challenging in my opinion and there's definitely things that could be improved in this game, but for a 72 hour job, this is damn well made! Good job!

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:56pm

The game is very polished although I can't say I enjoyed the reaction time mechanic much (perhaps I'm just too slow :D)

Music is seriously impressive!

Acuity says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:55am

That was pretty cool - kinda hard though.

Yvanor says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 1:47pm

Really hard, I can't pass the old lady x( Well done !

Patacorow says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Well done!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:30pm

amazing graphic, good game. well done!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:50pm

Really great entry, graphics, music and sound all came together nicely.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]