Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Double Punch Man

by fistmaker - Compo Entry

Ludum Dare 34: Two Button Controls

This is my LD34 entry, DoublePunch Man!

Use the Left and Right Arrow Keys to Punch,

Double-Tap an Arrow Key to Dodge in that Direction,

and hold down both Arrow Keys to Charge up a

massive Double Punch!

Source Located on itch.io for Construct 2.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#233Theme4.00
#356Humor2.64
#451Graphics3.15
#493Audio2.61
#667Fun2.89
#673Overall3.00
#734Mood2.56
#741Innovation2.68

Comments

Leeson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22am

Good game. Good use of only 2 buttons. The little bit of music is decent and the sfx are good. The graphics are nice. Also a good take on the punch out formula and most of all the name is awesome.

SecularBaron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Cool game. The graphics are good and it's fun playing a boxing game.

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Nice game! I wish there were more levels and more moves (maybe different combinations of buttons/timing?) Animation is great and gameplay is fun. I think I got lucky on my first try because I haven't won since :)

ohmmus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Loving the graphics and sounds! I agree with goffmog though, I wish there was more moves to do.

Overall though, great entry. That double punch is a killer!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:43pm

nice, cool use of the theme

Chaserbrown says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:45pm

While a bit confusing, it was fun. There were times that the enemy would just stand there and wouldn't get hurt... I'm not sure if that was intentional...

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:34pm

The gameplay didn't feel very solid but it was fun! The music is cool, you gotta' turn up the volume!

Piscythe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41pm

This looks really cool, it's a shame I still haven't figured out how to not suck at it. Doulbe tap dodging is tricky, and I don't feel like I can afford to fight the controls when even the easy opponent telegraphs so little. The sounds are good, but the music does not make me think of a boxing match at all - it's too slow for that. The double punch is an awesome idea, but I don't think this was the right game for me to pick up this genre. Though I had fun playing it, I ultimately found myself jealous of Saitama.

teamross says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:44pm

A bit confusing sometimes.
Overall cool game using the theme in a original way! ^^

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:45am

I just LOVE it. It reminds me my childhood and Amiga 500 times and for that I'm grateful.

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Really fun but so hard for me. I want to punch everything fast! It's a great use of the 2 button controls :D

zzapp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Great use of the theme, and the graphics and sound are nice.
Really challenging though, sometimes it feels like he hits like truck while I tickle his health down.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Nice entry! Mayeb a bit confusing to know when dodging or not, but still nice gameplay. I like the reference to Punch Out via gameplay and music guitar cover. Good job ;)

triello says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Good ideia, man! Congratulation for your work!

Kaupenjoe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Nice game! Very nice implementation of the two button theme :D

StrehFox says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Solid 2 button theme. Nice!

Shurty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:07pm

I did'nt get when I could keep boxing and when it's time to dodge. But it's definitly a very cool game and a clever use of the 2 buttons. AND lending the double punch on the opponent is very fun. great idea there !

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Pro:
+ Nice idea, remind me of Punch-out!
+ Cool graphics and sound
Con:
- It was pretty hard due to little enemy telegraphing
- Controls seemed a little unresponsive
Obs:
o There could be a differentiation between using the right or left fist. Maybe there is, but I didn't notice it.

Great job!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:33am

As a huge fan of NES Punch Out, I couldn't help but smile when I saw your entry! I think you did a great job with only 2 buttons!! It took me some time to get used to it but once I got it down, it was pretty cool to dodge and supercharge hit the opponent. Overall very fun with great graphics. Good job!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:20pm

left, right, left, right, left, right...you win!
Nice to see game that has basic concept as same style :)
Kind of reminded me of punch out with all the charge moves etc.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:23pm

simple but beutyful

Blobo says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Pretty nice use of the theme.

themadknights says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Nice graphics and nice use of the theme. I like it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]