Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cockatiel Egg

by FiSilva - Compo Entry

A game about a cockatiel. Uses both themes growing + 2 button controls

2 button control: turn + move forward
Collect eggs and avoid the growing corruption

(you don't have to collect the eggs, but you wouldn't leave your kids behind)

Not much to do, 5 small levels. Just a cute tiny game.

Sorry noo music, I tried but I couldn't do it.

I may update if I found how to change window size in GM:S

Done in GameMaker Studio
Sounds in Bosca Ceoil
Art and animation in Inkscape, CSP and Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Graphics4.38
#98Audio3.67
#105Mood3.68
#173Theme4.08
#183Overall3.65
#344Fun3.33
#498Innovation3.13
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:24am

The sounds the tile makes are really cool. And my heart sank each time the bird fell off of the platform.

PixlWalkr says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Neat game, I like the small puzzle-ish mechanics to get all the eggs while avoiding the growing corruption. cute art also!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:47am

Fun little entry. Feels cohesive and pretty polished for just 48 hours. Loved the "cute" style and the "success" and "failure" sound effects were really gratifying. Great job!

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Really sweat game. Well done!

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:08am

Sound effect for tiles are really nice. Gather eggs and reach exit is a working mechanic but I guess it's not enough by itself to be fun. There has to be other twists, I think you know it yourself too. Still great work, love the graphics and sounds. But minions were better :P

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:00am

nice job on audio and graphics - very polished game - nice job

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:51pm

My kids loved you game and play it through all levels. The controls forced them to change in thinking. Lovely art!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:48am

Pretty good game. The graphics and sound are clean and polished. It is also a nice little challenge to get all the eggs before being caught by the corruption.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:44pm

When I estimated the shortest route, and picked up each egg, I felt clever. If you continue to develop this, when I pressed Space to turn and overturned, I felt awkward. When I accidentally moved forward, I wished I knew how I could restart the level.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Great entry! Graphics and audio look cute and really polished, and gameplay is solid, too.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:10am

I'm in love with the graphics which makes the game so adorable-looking

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Nice graphics. Cute little game. Well done.

Btw. you can ALT+ENTER to make it full screen.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:47pm

I absolutely love how this looks! :D It's a simple game, but well done.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Cute! The graphics are really nice. The gameplay is pretty simple, but pretty fun too. I could see this game working well with more levels and some other type of obstacle (perhaps a door that opens and closes every second turn?)

Also, while the two button controls worked it probably would have been easier with just arrow keys :P

Nice job!

Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Cute graphics, nice game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/ONV56vKkbDk

Zyow says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:01pm

Nice game with cute graphics! Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]