Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Growing Block

by AndreSilvs - Compo Entry

A puzzle-platformer where you control a block. There are growing zones that make the block grow bigger and shrinking zones that make it grow smaller.

As you get larger you also jump higher but you'll become an easier target for stray projectiles and you'll be unable to move through certain paths. On the other hand if you become too small you won't jump very high. Try to get your size right.

If you spot any bug please leave a comment. Especially collision/input bugs.

How to play:

The block moves on its own and he can't stop moving, though he only starts moving after you click to start the level. Touch the flag in each level to complete it.

Z = Jump | Select Option
X = Change direction | Next Option

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
You will need to install the Visual Studio 2015 redistributables and OpenAL 1.1.

VS 2015 Redist - https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=48145
Open AL 1.1 installer - https://www.openal.org/downloads/oalinst.zip

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Made with C++ ( SDL, OpenGL )
Art with GIMP
Sounds with BFXR and music with Bosca Ceoil

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#431Audio2.73
#465Humor2.39
#548Innovation3.05
#648Overall3.05
#697Mood2.65
#723Theme3.39
#724Graphics2.61
#750Fun2.74
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

Blobo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:01pm

"The program can't start because OpenAL32.dll is missing from your computer"

sergicollado says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:22pm

I can't start the game :(

AndreSilvs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:34am

Make sure you run the OpenAL installer. It will create a copy of "OpenAL32.dll" in your system32 folder. And the VS 2015 Redist too.

simoroshka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:09pm

I don't know why but the game doesn't react to my input, I can't get pass the starting screen. Tried both version.

NuSan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Cool game, I like the puzzle ideas, even if they are way too hard for me. I always push the wrong button and you have to be prety precise to pass some of the levels. It's the cool game though, keep up the good work.

ripatti says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:23pm

It's harder than Super Meat Boy! Stucked on the 3rd level, after 50 deaths just passed to the bottom part of the level. Anyway, very interesting game concept.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:19pm

cute little game)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Cute little game, interesting puzzles!
It was a nice challenge, good job!

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:11pm

The controls are not responding sometimes.

AndreSilvs says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:34am

How/when do the controls not respond?

tazdij says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:00am

I thought it was a nice game, the controls were a bit odd to use, and I have seen another game similar in idea to this in the compo already. But overall a very nice game.

shahid says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Well done! Tough, but fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]