Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Project Sunflower

by JamesTanm - Jam Entry

Project Sunflower is a puzzle game where, using mirrors, you try to shine light on flowers to help them grow. Place, move and rotate your mirrors using your mouse, then press space to start the light

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2163Coolness22%

Comments

Roffe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24pm

The download link should be linked as windows instead of web. Very nice game, both graphic and gameplay. I found myself challenging me to complete the levels with as few objects as possible. It seems like the ray doesn't completely follow the real laws of reflection, which makes it harder to anticipate where the ray ends up, but hey, who says a game should be like in the real world. Nice work :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:52am

Fun concept, I had quite the fun time putting all sorts of crazy mirror paths :D
My only complaint is that running the same sequence twice with the same mirrors does not return the same bounce path. That's pretty counter-intuitive

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:34am

This is an excellent game concept, and I knew I was in for something charming from the title screen with the growing vine animation, but it still needs a lot of work in terms of its execution. Some things I noticed:

- mirror rotation control is odd and unintuitive
- using a popup to display stats is really weird
- frequently, the light bounces in a blatantly wrong direction (and it isn't even consistent based on the angle!), which makes the puzzles feel frustrating and arbitrary
- the wood walls don't stand out from the background, and I didn't realize they were obstacles at first (and hardly even noticed they were there) until a light ray hit them and stopped
- there's no way to know what direction light is going to come in the window until you hit space to let it play
- sometimes light rays fail to detect the mirrors and go straight through (a collision bug)

My suggestions:
- fix the collision and make light rays always follow the law of reflection
- remove the needless restart-and-wait cycle by replacing it with a real-time system where updating a mirror or prism instantly updates the ray trajectory
- fix the disparity in art quality where some assets look great and others look bleh

You should also remove the audio voting category in accordance with the rules, since you used sound effects from pre-existing sources (as noted in the credits).

ramoncb says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:45am

Very impressive! Probably was quite challenging to figure out how to make this puzzle, trying to make it works like real physics. You totally should keep working and improving this game, good job!

Sim00n says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:46am

Crashed on Windows 10. No errors, just doesn't start :/

sbot1101 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:24am

Nice concept. With some tweaking & usability fixes I could see it working as a zen mobile puzzle game

Catblocker says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:59pm

I would recomend if exported the game as an single time exe rather than what you have done now.

monetai says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:00pm

great, i have a headache now! but the game was great!

jachepe says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Some bugs but It is a very funny and innovative game!

Silverfyre says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:51am

Nice game concept! However, the mirror always doesn't reflect like what I expect it to be :O

Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:42am

The web link is an executable for Windows, I can't run this on Linux so unable to rate the entry.

kardfogu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:48pm

Awesome entry. Clearly among the most fun I entries I tried, really. The whole thing has that crazy machine style going on with consistent and stylish graphics, the audio was good enough, the gameplay was fun - I managed to do every single stage without using more than 1 mirror and/or prism - and had what everyone loves about this genre.

Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]