Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sol Breaker 4081

by lgbpaiva - Compo Entry

My very first game!

Controls are: Mouse position to move, left button to shoot and right button to special.
Surely it could have been much more optimized but I did it the way I knew. I've spent close to a month studying Game Maker.
I'd like to thank my wife for the support, my buddies Perionauta and Careca for the discussions.

Please, like our facebook page and follow us on twitter. :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#349Audio2.93
#554Fun3.06
#570Overall3.13
#629Humor2.00
#766Graphics2.50
#796Mood2.38
#882Theme2.94
#920Innovation2.00
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Great game! :D Simple but works well

David says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:31pm

It is really a small game you can have fun with, the only thing that i find a little bit anoying is the background (the stars tile is too often repeated for that size) Nevertheless, it´s cool, the game even has a intro "story" :D

Gyfis says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Pretty nice game! I'd enjoy music or sounds, though I know it can be very time-demanding to have those made by yourself, and my eyes are going a bit sideways from that background, but the graphics and their detail is very cool!

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Simple but fun game! The background got a little rough on the eyes though.

knason says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Really great game! I actually played it over and over several times. Tryng to get to that big ship that ended up killing me :-) Good job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:02pm

The stars tile too much and the player sprite is easily lost in the background, otherwise pretty good

madcoil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Nice and simple, but plays well. I love the music. And of course it had to have insta-kill bullets.

ajopart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:10pm

That stop in mid air ! Simple gameplay, well executed. Bravo

LittleThor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Well made game. Try to add some innovative parts to your gameplay next time ^^

Strike says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Ah yes, a good shooter. And giant bosses !

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Yay now the republic shall live on for...wait a second. Out beloved emperor? Dang I was the bad guy all the time :D
Very well done for a two day game :)
Only thing I was hoping for was upgrades to the base gun, but in the end it wasnt really needed

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:38pm

I liked the visuals with the exception of the background, gameplay was challenging and fun, well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]