Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

EyeGuy

by zacerhy - Jam Entry

As a team of 5 we created a pseudo endless runner which randomly chooses from a pool of existing level prefabs to create an endless scene.

The player uses the A and D keys to shrink and grow to avoid obstacles and collect gems. Collect 10 gems to reach the rhythm based boss level. We want to add more to the boss level in the future to make it more challenging but for now the player just collects the meat to beat the boss.

In a later build after completing a boss level we would move you on to stage 2 but for now the game just loops you back into the original runner scene but with different levels.

Made with Unity, GIMP and Paint.Net

EXE Download zip available from Itchio page!

Made by Robert Grundy (@RobertGeegee), Zac Cocken (@Zacerhy), Owen Chapman (@Owenzzz1), Conor Evans (@_ConorEvans_) and Johnson Lee.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#147Theme(Jam)4.11
#293Humor(Jam)3.06
#557Fun(Jam)3.11
#716Overall(Jam)3.11
#730Innovation(Jam)2.81
#730Mood(Jam)2.95
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00

Comments

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Maybe upload an executable? I'm a chrome user :s

elliottd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:47pm

nice game! I wish the music continued through instead of restarting with the level. I found the transitions to downward slopes followed by drills on the ceiling would get me no matter what size i was.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Works fine in firefox. Music is a bit harsh. Core mechanic feels good, could be a little faster to change size. Also would like to see more drastic variation in size. Solid game overall.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:48pm

The music was pretty grating -_- Cool game though! The rolling movement felt good.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Fun game. Felt good, but music could use some work.

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:57pm

5/5 for the theme. Simple and well executed concept. Good work

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:03pm

I'm sorry, I can't play this game - Chrome on Linux?

WebFreak001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Add a linux version please

redmassacre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:17pm

very nice)
i like your style) and animation is smooth
It's a pity we can't see our cute protagonist - he is blurred in motion)
May be a little bit faster reaction would make the game less hardcore - i mean camera sometimes do not show enough and the player should predict what he get next.
I liked your game - it could be developed to pleasant time killer - it has some flow and atmoshpere :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Solid entry! I liked the animation of him starting to spin

Dec 29, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Challenging, cool little game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/-PrUibNueHg

Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:01pm

I like the simplicity of this; it works really well. Great job fitting it to both themes, too! :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]