Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

PerePey

by Riftpoint - Jam Entry

*Perepey is an artistic/arcade game with only two buttons. With the left mouse button you spin your character (you move automatically, but you control the spinning) and with the right mouse button you use a turbo/dash to go faster.

*The game have 3 different levels, each of them have 3 objectives. When you complete an objective, you win coins that unlock other levels. There are also 3 special levels with time trial mode.

*The game was made to be hard, can you beat it? Give it a try!

*Attention: This game features lots of particles, explosions and fireworks.

*This game was made only by one person: me :)

*Don`t forget to watch the video bellow to see how the gameplay works!!!
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
VIDEO
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W80H07kB7m8&feature=youtu.be
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CONTROLS

LEFT MOUSE - Spin
RIGHT MOUSE - Dash
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#159Overall(Jam)3.74
#212Mood(Jam)3.62
#239Fun(Jam)3.52
#290Innovation(Jam)3.44
#290Audio(Jam)3.42
#300Graphics(Jam)3.82
#375Theme(Jam)3.82
#398Humor(Jam)2.85

Comments

Pusty says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Well I have to confess that it was too hard for me. I wasn't even able to complete 1 objective O:
But this game is amazing! It looks awesome! Audio was really good! Good job!

pedrorossa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Very cool.
Hard and vicious.
Everyone need to try play.

Great art, sound and gamedesign.

AlexaCol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Love the minimalist look, saw the post about the game and already liked it then! 10/10

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Very nice looks and audio, this is a super good entry :)

grama says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Nice visuals, but I thought that the objectives were too difficult to start. I didn't enjoy the dash much, would have enjoyed to rotate to the other direction too.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Nice game, I like the graphics and the gameplay!

CrownCity says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:43pm

I liked this game! For some reason it reminded me of Loco Roco. I only couldn't get to the next levels for some reason, I completed the first one 3 times, but didn't get any coins. But I got the feeling and the hang of it. Thanks

LMT says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44pm

That's an awesome looking game, with great sond and controls. I however, too found the game way to difficult and was able to complete very few of the objectives (only progressing to the third level).

walaber says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Just leaving a note that I wanted to play, but don't have a windows machine! thanks for rating my game.

Soka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Really fun :D the spin is a little bit hard to master but its pretty cool

refreshgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:58pm

I'm glad I downloaded this one, it's a tough game, that rewards progress, I'm determined to beat it! Nice mechanic for two button controls, the boost is particularly handy on level 2(hint, hint) cool cartoony graphics, matching sound effects and background music, very cool game!

lawendt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:44am

Nice game! Just found it way too hard(shame on me)

Somnium says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16am

Excellent game!

The first level was a bit overwhelming in its number of objectives, while just learning the game.

The graphics and music fit the gameplay very well!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:58pm

This could be a awesome mobile game

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Good visual experience, still the game is too hard and frustrating, you should give autosave and slowdown the cursor. Cannot get past level 1 :(...

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Great mechanic, But its hard! :)

limered says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Very hard, but very fun too. Watering is the hardest! Multiple Levels too. I'm impressed how much you were able to build.

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Cool game. Very nice graphical style. Gameplay is solid and simple yet deceptively challenging. Reminds me an awful lot of Hohokum on PS4!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Wow, the game feels super polished for a jam entry. Great job!

The gameplay is quite hard, especially because of the speed. I feel like having gradual speed increases would level out the learning curve a little. But besides that, it is a fun game.

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Unique concept, great execution, and I like the simple, almost "children's pop-up book" art style. I kept wishing there was a slow down or hard/tight turn button, but the design works as intended - even if it is too hard for me.

Madball says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:42pm

I completed the game. Is it enough to make it into the Guiness world records?
(I got a "level completed" sign on each level. Yes, that's more than just collecting 12 coins.)

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Very tight gameplay and graphics! I really liked it a lot.

Tyler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Lovely feel! Visuals are spectacular as well! A bit too difficult, but that's all.

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:13pm

I gotta say, apart from the very high difficulty, the game nails it.
Very good design, graphics, sound, concept. I wish it wasn't so hard so I could see which other mechanics you have put into it.
Excellent job.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Meditative gameplay, nice graphics!

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:09am

Nice! Reminds me a good thing to Hohokum :) Very fun to toy with!

PieChronicles says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16pm

took a while to get into the controls but after a while found it real fun =] grats on the cool idea!

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:34am

1. Marvelous!
2. One thing I would change, only one: button right rotates to the other side and both give turbo.
3. Any chance to share the project? I'd like to look carefully at that beautiful art.

Yword says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:19am

Really fun and challenging! I think it will be better if Right click will rotate right instead. Well done!

kaa says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:25am

Very good entry! Nice art and dynamic gameplay.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:51am

this game is very hard and makes fun and you're never mad at the game! well done

Eingya says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:37am

Please let me turn the other way.

Everything else is nice!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Very nice and polished!
I agree with previous comments, one button for left, one for right, and both for turbo, but is turbo really necessary?

vitorlanna says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:55am

A very polished game, that's for sure! I wish you could spin the other way around too...

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:27pm

I think you made an amazing game, with clever mechanics and a wonderful atmosphere!

I agree with the previous comments about controls and everything. It was way too hard for me as well, but not in a bad way - I felt like the mistakes were my own, and that I could improve if I kept trying. That being said, starting the levels off easier for new players, or changing the controls at least, would definitely be a good idea.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:39pm

Really challenging, cute game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/3B2_gBg5rhI

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:54pm

It was a very hard game but it was really well done! I loved the concept and the audio was amazing. I had great fun trying to beat some of the objectives. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]