Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Swordsman's Life

by hcosta - Jam Entry

Well, this time I wanted to create a kind of tribute and parody.

My initial idea for the "Growing" theme was about creating multiple sprites for different games: backgrounds, characters clothes and weapons... but since yesterday I was sick I had to sacrifice most of the graphics.

Anyways I managed to create an interesting prototype so I hope you enjoy this simple tap game! :D

IMPORTANT: Audio not working in Internet Explorer

Parodied games: Dragon Quest, Prince of Persia, The Legend of Zelda, Star Wars, Final Fantasy VII and special mention to Super Smash Bros ;)

========

Created with GameMaker: Studio Professional Edition
Code and graphics by me, MIDI songs found in:

http://www.rpgamer.com
http://tssf.gamemusic.ca/Remakes/
http://www.angelfire.com/scifi/videos00/star_wars_midi/

========

EDIT: About the copyrighted MIDI material. I'm using a little part of songs (about 30 seconds), just to parody the referenced games (my favorites). I also think that since LD is a self-educative public competition, in this case is under fair use.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#33Humor(Jam)4.06
#518Mood(Jam)3.21
#699Graphics(Jam)3.09
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#817Fun(Jam)2.76
#885Innovation(Jam)2.53
#964Theme(Jam)2.91

Comments

RyanMan56 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:39am

When your finger hurts. But seriously good game! I really enjoyed the humour! :D

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59am

This was full of humor, nicely done!

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20am

A digital poetry that is told by swords, very good =D

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:57am

This game made me laugh so much harder than it should have :p

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:57am

Wow, why there arent more comments on this? haha, its awasome, love the musics and gameplay, but PLEASE i dont know if you guys like it, but would be awasome to have finn's sword(adventure time) on it, haha at least i would love it (more)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59am

Interesting little game. You managed to tackle both themes with only one button! Great job.

Krafty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42am

Good concept, needs more content though.

adamyounis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:44am

This isn't a bad concept, though there's not much diversity to the interaction. I would be careful about using copyrighted material though, I think most of the midis used the exact compositions of the games they were paying homage to. I did like the text and animation. With more time and care this could be a fun parody game.

Eduard55 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Good job and good game as a result ! I really enjoyed the humour! Fun parody game with interesting details.

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:18am

Simple but funny. I lost it at the ridiculous Sephiroth's katana. xD Which game is the credits music from?

Nicolas Gass says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Loved it, but i died and started from the beginning? Oh...

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:47am

It's cute as a parody for sure! Also, I'm surprised to hear you say you sacrificed most of the graphics. Honestly the graphics looked pretty darn good compared to many LD games.

The game itself could have been a little stronger. The humor definitely keeps it entertaining though!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:52am

Funny. I wish you restarted back where you died, I made it to FF7 and let a single slime past... I wanted to see all of the games! Oh well. I like the midi/soundfont renditions of the different game themes, it gave a shlock-y, lopsided flavor to them and sold the comedy. Good work.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Nice :) As others have said, it would be nice to be able to restart from the last level your reached.

Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:18pm

I laughed a lot. Great concept, great retro graphics. The title is neat, and the writing is very funny. I'd love to see a post-comp version with all the extra content you mentioned.

Unfortunately, while I enjoyed this a lot, it loses some points for having only very slight game content, and I'm not sure what LD's policy is on using copyrighted music.

In short, as a game: very slight. As a Flash video/tribute to nostalgic awesomeness? Great!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]