Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

You

by jofra - Jam Entry


Don´t let your nightmares grow on you. But even if you try, those nightamres will always find a way to you.


Our 2nd Ludum Dare!! Had a blaaast! :)
After "Me" now we bring you "You"!!
Hope you enjoy it!

WASD to walk | left click to shoot





Credits:
João Vasco - Programmer
Francisco Santos - Art & Sound

Artist Page - https://www.behance.net/Francisco_Santos

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#104Graphics(Jam)4.28
#156Mood(Jam)3.73
#431Audio(Jam)3.17
#446Overall(Jam)3.39
#768Innovation(Jam)2.74
#809Fun(Jam)2.77
#1045Theme(Jam)2.50

Comments

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30am

Love the design :D Gameplay is bit repetitive though.

benjammin1391 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30am

HArd to see at times, but a fun little shooter

sorle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Wow this is creepy. But I like it. especially the visuals

Troma says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:41am

Good art and environment. Continue with the project!

sonelliot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:45am

Loved the creepy aesthetic and atmosphere! Also, the ending animation was really cool! Great job :D

purrpurr says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:53am

The design on these visuals are done so well it sucks you right into the game.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:30am

I love the painty style graphics in this game. The sound and lighting really being the mood together. I love the concept and would love to see it developed more!

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Graphics are awesome!! =) But the game is a little bit tedious.

kaa says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:47pm

What a great graphics and mood!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Wow, a nice little shooter! Loved the art style and death animations! With a bit more polish this could be a really intense spooky experience! Nice entry!

togo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:54pm

its a little short on gameplay, but the art is beautiful.

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Very nice art style and use of sound. Would love to see some story set in those environments.

Shovix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:16pm

abstract

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Loved the graphical style, really good light effects (when there was light). However, I felt a bit disoriented sometimes due to the lack of a clear path or any lighting.

Dejvo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:46am

nice graphics.

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Just a tip about WSAD, do not forget to also use ZSQD.
Here is a nice post about key controls:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/24/why-z-is-a-bad-action-key/

piper82 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:27pm

great atmosphere. well done.

@el_kloklo
alt+shift saved me from that pain.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]