Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing Gertrude

by edgeofcode - Jam Entry

I've really enjoyed making Growing Gertrude. I hope you enjoy playing it!

You are Gertrude the amoeba. Eat those smaller than you to grow until you are large enough to take on Peanut the Octopus and steal her treasure (make sure you find the key first!)

Use the WASD keys to move Gertrude (the arrow keys also work, but will move the page as well as the character, so I recommend only using them in full screen mode where this is no longer an issue). You'll need 4 of each creature to grow enough to eat the next.

I used Unity, Inkscape, Audacity and LMMS to make this game.

Edit: I've added fixes to make Gertrude easier to control, and also to stop creatures appearing on top of Gertrude killing her instantly. Hopefully these fixes will make the game beatable. Though I'm wondering if it's too easy now - let me know!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#354Humor(Jam)2.92
#428Theme(Jam)3.77
#448Audio(Jam)3.15
#639Graphics(Jam)3.20
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#839Fun(Jam)2.73
#950Innovation(Jam)2.36

Comments

NecroMac says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:29am

It reminds me of Spore early levels as well as Agar, but controls are quite hard. And it is very easy to die from anything. Still, quite enjoyable.

deadread says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:55am

It's the multi cellular stage from spore. Nice idea, issue is that the randomly popping mobs gets annoying when your tail clips with the mob, as he spawns

Zknet says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:14am

Cute sound effects, but very hard to control.

pontooncity says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:14am

Controls are a little tough, being reversed from what you'd assume makes it tricky. Nice graphics and sound.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:58am

Really tricky to control. It would also have been nice to have some sort of chart so I knew what things I could eat at any one time or what the next one I could eat would be. Other than that, not bad. :D

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:58am

this game would be pretty good if it had mouse follow, or mouse click in front of it to move. the controls got me, i had to stop playing. though this game looks like it would be fun.

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00am

Not a bad game, but the controls are very much an issue as they're not very intuitive. That along with the randomly appearing enemies while you can't control very well is pretty rough.

Gunn3rboi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:07am

cool game, i liked the concept of it but the controls were just to hard so i ended up quitting before even making it to the second stage but other than that i really liked it.

goffmog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:58am

Lovely game, deceptively cute but hard as nails. A little bit of early warning before enemies appear would go a long way.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:18pm

I think game is good! I'd like to add something like hungry bar or timer to make player feed faster

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Nice to meet you, Gertrude the amoeba!
I played it with the WASD controls and it ended up being very easy to play

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Quite similar to a few others but still fun and a cute graphics and sounds! There's something incredibly satisfying about being big enough to eat the guy that just ate you. Only small criticism is that it wasn't obvious to me straight away that the icon in the top left was the biggest creature I could eat so I spent ages being way to cautious eating small fish when I could've been advancing faster.

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Great game. I liked the noises of Gertrude. It is not so hard, once you figure out the game. Sadly, I was a glutton and after findig the key I ate to much and got stuck in a cave.

Joror says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:57am

Nice little game, light in scope, but simple satisfaction to be had. Nom nom ya squid!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]