Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Solstand

by bloomingbuds - Jam Entry

“Please, gather around. The story of the faraway Solstand is about to start. A story of a small fishing village whose biggest concern was to face a cruel solstice every year. Tales are told about the Moon being on their side, trying to help with its influence on tides. There used to be boats, there used to be nets, there used to be homes, wind and inexplicableness. Now take a seat, and pay attention to detail, let’s dive into the fate of Solstand…”

Solstand is a moon phase and tides management game. The player must choose which moon phase needs every night in order to modify the tides. The game’s goal is to resist the solstice, taking into account how to manage all the available means (nets and boats) in order to get the resources that the town needs to stay alive. It won’t be easy, many obstacles may appear on the way.

Good luck, may the Moon be with you.
====================================
The game could be seen as an experience. But if you want some help, here is a quick guide:
- Moon (choose one [right arrow key] and confirm [return]):
Full moon increases a lot the sea level, Gibbous moon increases it a bit.
New moon decreases a lot the sea level, Crescent moon decreases it a bit.
- Village:
Check the houses lights. People may leave the town for different reasons (hungry, scared...).
Check the fish basket. It represents the amount of food available.
- Boat:
The boat set sail on high sea levels, and starts fishing on medium levels.
Pay attention to the rocks, the boat could crash there and take some time to repair.
- Net:
The net can be collected on lower sea levels.
The amount of collected fish increases on a daily basis, but can get rotten if not collected for a long period of time.
- Other stuff:
You should discover it by yourself ;)
=====================================

Credits, in order of fishing:
Jose Manuel Moreno as Monkfish
Miguel Martín as Seabream
Aleix Garrido as Anchovy
Denis Asensio as Trout
AC Ojeda as Solefish

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#34Graphics(Jam)4.60
#38Mood(Jam)4.18
#113Audio(Jam)3.82
#199Innovation(Jam)3.59
#435Overall(Jam)3.40
#697Humor(Jam)2.30
#848Theme(Jam)3.21
#994Fun(Jam)2.41

Comments

Ludipe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:30am

Hey guys!

Thought the game was pretty cool, specially loved the art style and how well those few sounds work with the mood.

Gameplay felt a bit empty, perhaps it was because the number of actions you can do is quite limited and resource management games usually allow more input, but there's little else you can do in 72 hours.

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:19am

Wow! Very nice artstyle and mood you've got going here! Was a bit hard to understand gameplay without reading comments tho.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26am

The mood is awesome! Love the graphics and music/sounds. However, it took me quite some time to understand the game mechanics, but I guess this is part of the game. Great job here.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:28am

Wow. Very beautiful game with a great mood. Was quite hard but very interesting. Some problems I ran into was that I managed to get an empty sign and that the fishing boat didn't want to go back out onto the perilous sea.

manabreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:28am

Well done! Reminds me of the intro scene of Battleblock Theater. Really cool graphics style. :)

bloomingbuds says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Hey everyone, thx for your comments! :)
Yeah we are aware of a couple of bugs, so we are uploading a new version right now with those fixed.
You can always replay it if you want :D

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Very nice graphics

NuSan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Great atmosphere. I love the art. Without explanation I would not even understand what choosing a moon do. Keep up the good work

guoboism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Space bar will blow the cloud!

I love the graphics! It's so nice!
But game is too complicated... I would even wish for a liner viking against sea monster story with this graphics style...

Haokarlos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:24am

I really love the graphics style and the atmosphere of the game. I still didn't understand but I will keep playing for it! ;)

Good job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Nice Atmospheric game with a unique gameplay idea. However, as others said already, it's very difficult to understand what is going on...

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:35pm

The art style and mood are amazing but I didn't really understand the game play.

recursor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Oooh! That water is just so cool. I really love the paper cutout graphical style you pulled off on this.
The sounds are equally as impressive. They both mesh together nicely and are top-notch! Maybe I missed something, but I didn't feel like the game play was nearly as fun and cool as the Grafics/SFX are. It felt a bit too slow for my tasted, but that is just my opinion.

ajopart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:24pm

5/5 in mood, graphic, audio and innovation !

banana4life says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Awesome art

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Nice art but it is a bit dull and the color palette is very dark i know that is the style of game but it gets repetitive and boring

paulfysh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:59pm

The graphics are wonderful, and the sound fits the game perfectly.

utgarda says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Mood and graphics are super good! Sound fits perfectly. I'm not ashamed to admit, I didn't understand how to fill the fish basket after 5 games AND reading the explanation. Will play some more to discover more secrets.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:07pm

The graphics and mood are good, the gameplay feels empty though.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Great atmosphere. I love the art which reminds me the old clip "tonight, tonight" from Smashing Pumpkins. Without explanation I would not even understand what choosing a moon do. Well done ++

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Nice art style! I liked the fact that you decided to go with an idea revolving around the moon to answer to the theme. However, I didn't really got the point of the game in itself so it ended up being frustrating to play

crucknuk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Art style and mood are awesome! But to be honest, I don't really understand what do I have to do and how villagers to die :s

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Interesting game and I really liked the mood, but it was a little bit confusing. Good job :)

Robber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:20am

i've tried a couple of times but it's not very clear to me how the different moons work, it doesn't seem consistant..the graphics and mood are gorgeous though

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:09am

Love the art style

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Game mechanics are a bit hard to understand, but it is very polished. Graphics, theme, atmosphere and mood are beautiful :)

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Loved the mood and artistic direction of this entry! It's pretty unique.
Gameplay is a bit repetitive, but original for sure!

Well played :)

felixreeve says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Not totally sure how it works, but it was neat! Enjoyed trying to figure things out, although I think that the two-button control scheme probably didn't help so much as hinder your game. Nice graphical style and innovative idea!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:03pm

It looks and sounds very beautiful and that's definitely it's strong point. I felt the gameplay was shallow, but as an experience it's still very atmospheric.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Confusing gameplay, there's not enough feedback to indicate the results of your actions. There's more fish in the fish bowl, was that because of the boat or the nets and how did the tide affect it? Unclear.

However, on the plus side, the audiovisuals are freakin' awesome.

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:09pm

The graphics and the idea are pretty perfect! I was a little confused about how to get the ship to fish and/or go back to collect the net. I feel like this is one I want to go back and play again though...gotta figure it out. Also I could hit the space bar for hours! that alone was fun! haha

applejam says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Amazing graphic! Amazing music! Cool Atmosphere!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Really like the cutout design of this one, some great animations!

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Pretty little game. :) I just found the animation between two choices takes toooooo much time. It would be good if I could have skipped it by pressing something. But other than that, it's very nice. Challenging too.

Mat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Awesome graphics, nice audio, great atmosphere, but it's difficult to see what are the effect of the tide. Maybe you should add explanation. Still a great work !

DrFallos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:33am

Liked game very much! Graphics on high level! Good gameplay mechanics!

tobia88 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:20am

The bg art is awesome and great job here man.

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Wow! The art and the mood is perfect. I read the guide and i tried to replay it a lot of times. But really man, it needs some feedback for the player. I didn't understand, the sea tide needs to rise for the fish net on the beach catch the fishes, and then it needs to low the tides for fishers collect the fishes. I was trying to do that but the food was just shrinking. I reached until day 15. If you could post a full guide for people who still want to play your game but couldn't grasp the mechanics it would be much appreciated.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Hi everyone,

I liked the mood a lot, and how well artwork (music and graphics) supported it.

I'm probably missing some closure after the game is lost or win. Something to fit the narrative of the solstice and the fisher town. I hope you have some time to add it after the jam.

I've played just a couple of times but I'm still wondering what would happen if the boat reaches the horizon.

And regarding technical issues: first time I played I though the basket was my yield of food for that moon but it seems to be the stock. Probably a static asset would represent a stock much better.

Cheers!!! A job very well done.

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Great job! Had a great atmosphere to it.

Akhera says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:24pm

I love the art style and mood, but the gameplay is just way too cryptic for me.

Dejvo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:14am

very nice graphics. not sure about the gameplay

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:56am

pretty, but wish the mechanics were better explained

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Amasingly put together!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Interesting game idea. Gameplay reminds tetris =) Can't fugure out what I should actually do, but game is very fun! Good work!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Sorry, not this game...

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Can't understand what I should to do =(
But visually game is buatiful!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Great art style, audio and amazing amount of polish. Very atmospheric.
I am not sure if I understood gameplay mechanics.. Is there a good ending? Can you save people/ village?

Polith Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:10pm

I loved this game on so many levels that it's hard to describe. The atmosphere is fantastic, the audio is wonderful, art is indescribable and the gameplay is totally unique. Congratulations, I am amazed by this masterpiece. There is no fairer note than 5!

EwChap says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:50am

Lovely artwork. enjoyed the idea of seeing what happened as you play around with the different states.

sergicollado says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:43am

I love graphics and mood :) well done!

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Great looking game! The gameplay was not very involving, but I had fun playing

the-arrival says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:30am

AMAZING asthetics

dx0ne says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:04pm

That's some gem aesthetically speaking. Love the atmosphere.

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Very beautiful and atmospheric game. It's a bit hard to figure out. I still don't understand everything that was happening, but I was eventually able to get to 20+ days. I think it needs a combination of more direct gameplay instructions and visual feedback on what is happening (e.g. if I lower the tide to collect my lobster pots and it doesn't add to my food, is it because I didn't wait long enough, or not lower the tide enough, or did they rot, or what?).

I enjoyed it though, it's pretty cool.

Mar 30, 2016 @ 4:49pm

I love the graphics. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]