Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

High Noon Swinger

by saucygames - Jam Entry

Retro gun slinging shooter, using only two buttons.

Our second attempt at Ludum Dare, hope you enjoy! :)

Q - Focuses shot
P - Shoots, when focused.

Whats the password?

Downloads and Links




philipp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:02pm

I think thats the best idle animation i've ever seen in a game. 10/10

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Weird game. Art is neat. Easter egg with password is a cool addition. Gun moves too quickly in my opinion.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Hahaha... the crotch... hahahahahaha!! Great game, man. I loved it, although it was quite hard to precisely shoot. But hey, it was pleasant to see them blow up!

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Cool game. Nice pixel art. Love the zoomed-in bullet view! Controls took a bit of getting used to, I didn't know the focus button was a toggle rather than a hold to focus thing. Maybe add that as an option?

Crotch rating 5/5

BREAKTIME! says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:11am

Raged at the fact I couldn't get passed my score of 14. Awesome game. The Luchador with a chicken leg was my favorite!

Eingya says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:51am

Interesting visuals, altough i feel that the gameplay itself is not really that much fun. trying to lock your gun on your enemy feels quite frustrating, and there seem to be no action that the player can take to not being shot at (why not a simple time limit at this point?)

Peekotus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:51am

Amazing art.

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:24am

Aiming is really tough! But that definitely creates that feel of "I can do better. One more game" which is great! Your art is good, and the sound effects were fine. Good game.

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:26am

Very hard because the guns don't seem to always move at the same speed, the animations are hilarious though!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:27am

Nice graphics and good atmosphere of wild west ;)

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:30am

Nice arts, nice crotch.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:13am

Really cool art style. Did you use Paint to make them?

careless says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:35am

Enjoyed that, some nice graphics and random text was fun. Good that you managed a few game types also.

The aiming is very tough, the swing could be a bit smoother.

Good Entry

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:20am

Very addictive game! Nice idea;)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Nice graphics, funny gameplay! Nice one! :D

Zeriver says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:16am

Simple but very fun mechanic, i liked camera zoom on bullet - cool effect.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:23am

A really creative game with very amusing characters. Nice!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:48am

once i figured out the controls it was fun - greate animations too - cheeky

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Focussing with Q could be improved a little otherwise its a really good game.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Cool game! But it depends to much in luck to not get killed!
Great job guys!

sergicollado says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:43pm

I like this game, so fun!

zzapp says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Really awesome characters and animations, they were unique and hilarious. The aiming with Q was tedious at times though, and could be improved. Overall a fun game, Good job.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:21pm

It's a bit random-win, but not so bad to play. ;)

Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:21am

Really good :) I like the art but I think the mood could be improved with music and the gameplay improved with a little variety in opponents... maybe this comes after getting higher scores but my highest was 10

Warboys says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:24pm

This is really interesting, very unique art style and I really enjoyed the tense gameplay. Sometimes I wish the computer wasn't so good, or that you had a couple of lives, but overall it's good stuff!

mockthebear says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:44pm

have to say. this guy has some balls. no, really, he hase big ones XD

Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Fun little game. The art was great

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]