Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Harry The Unusually Happy Worm

by Cruzer_AU - Jam Entry

Eat Humans and Potatos to Grow your length. (The max length is 1000)

Left Arrow turns left.
Right Arrow turns right.

I was going to add minigames and goals to accomplish and such. But i ran out of time. All i was able to add was a race.
You can start the Race by crossing the checkered flag on the middle left of the map then follow the arrows.

Made in C++ with SFML.
Images From: Public Domain (Some textures by me) and http://opengameart.org/
Sounds From: http://www.freesfx.co.uk/ and http://publicdomain4u.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#361Humor(Jam)2.91
#562Audio(Jam)2.89
#681Theme(Jam)3.50
#807Mood(Jam)2.77
#829Fun(Jam)2.74
#938Overall(Jam)2.79
#953Graphics(Jam)2.35
#1020Innovation(Jam)2.08

Comments

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04am

what is that music? XD
I FOUND THE SMILE FACE C:
it made me happy

Krafty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:15am

This game reminds me of Lego Island. It doesn't seem complete, but it still is nice and I liked the worm. I thought the turns were a little bit too wide and sometimes I got stuck or had trouble getting to an item. Also, the music got on my nerves a little bit. Nice game and I hope you continue to improve on this idea! :)

Cruzer_AU says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17am

@mockthebear
Thanks for playing!
The music is: "Sweet Potato Blues" By: King David’s Jug Band.

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:03am

Good use of the brake sound effect when running into things; I liked that.

Building in the race minigame as a thing to just stumble upon was pleasing.

The collision bounds on the worm's mouth felt a little small; there were times I felt I'd gotten close enough to a human/potato but still didn't actually eat it. It's a subjective point, but I can't help but feel a little cheated out of a rightfully deserved potato. :-)

Ka-Wiz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24am

currently my favorite LD34 game! it just has such a great charm to it, the art style & music especially... i love the open-world exploration which you don't really see too much. as Krafty said, turns feel a bit too wide, but that's my only complaint.

wesley werner says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24am

I can see why Harry has that big smile - which worm wouldn't love eating all those beach-goers. Nice little game with a fun race-track meta-game.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:10am

Fun :D That audio tho

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:03am

Music makes me happy!

architect404 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:14pm

there doesn't seem to be any win or lose conditions and the hitbox on the food is a little unforgiving, but it's an amusing little game with some nice touches like the change in friction on sand and the race

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:39am

What a cute, feel-good game! It's unclear where to go at first but I figured it out eventually. That great music though... it puts a huge smile on my face :) Good job.

flukeshot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:18pm

I like Harry, this game is kind of charming.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Hahah that music <3
Cool entry :)

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:53pm

The music is really nice ;) Funny little game!

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:57am

I like the exploration, the turning angle of the worm seems a bit wide at times. Overall very nice game.

Joror says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:03am

I dined mostly on human flesh. It was good. I smiled a lot.

Also occasionally did speed. Made me go fast, which felt good, but it was more a hindrance - more humans got away.

Even with no-one stopping me, I imagined that someone would, eventually... maybe...

Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:40am

Nice little game, love the musical score!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]