Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Antibounce

by TurtleP - Jam Entry

=ANTIBOUNCE=

A Ludum Dare #34 Game

Use the left and right arrow keys to move your player to bounce and collect coins. Don't stand around too long, or spikes will spawn below you. Every 4 coins spawns a spike, and after 8 coins it becomes every 2. Gravity will flip every 10-16 seconds, so watch out!

OS/X and Linux need to download the framework Löve from www.love2d.org/ to play.

Special thanks to my friends Fluxu, Renhoek, xKaype, and Tjakka5 for motivation!

*Update 2
Added pausing (because pausing is nice: press Escape)
Fixed the aliasing on the font
Fixed a weird menu bug where the player could activate the game instead of quitting

*Update 1
Fixed main menu bug causing the player to reset the game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#498Fun(Jam)3.18
#541Audio(Jam)2.95
#594Mood(Jam)3.12
#600Theme(Jam)3.59
#627Graphics(Jam)3.23
#682Overall(Jam)3.14
#863Innovation(Jam)2.59
#2043Coolness28%

Comments

Tjakka5 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:34am

Game is cute and fun, and the graphics are really, really nice as well.

kaype says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:46am

This game is tiny. Like, *really* tiny. I can barely see it.
You should make a version that's scaled up 2x. That'd make it easier for people with bad vision and/or high dpi displays.

Anyways, when I play it with Windows Magnifier on, it's actually pretty fun :)

TurtleP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:48am

Okay I just fixed it up so it can handle bigger resolutions.

vrld says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:41pm

The mechanic has potential, but the execution is lacking:

- The game starts too slow, but then picks up pace too fast
- The ball moves too slowly
- The spikes are very hard to make out from the background
- The spikes appear with no warning, often when you collect the coin immediately above
- The hitbox of the spike is too big

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59am

Very well done! Sometimes spikes would spawn right under me as I was coming "down". That kind of felt unfair, but otherwise solid presentation!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:30pm

First of all, I love your menu. This is something that I think more games should do!

The audio and graphics suite the game very well and are coherent and complement each other. Simple and fast to get into but with an increasing challenge!

I would like it if the spikes were a little bit more obvious though.

Overall a very nice entry!!! :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Simple, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/G4-JCtlxKuU

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:52am

Very nice game! Simple and fun!

This game shows how keeping it simple is sometimes the best choice!

Karai17 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:34am

Quite a solid release. The visual style fit well and the menu screen was pretty neat.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:15am

It needs some kind of visual indicator for when a spike is *about* to pop up.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Nice little game with smooth graphics. Spikes are too unforgiving though, as others have mentioned.

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:01pm

I like the presentation of this game, its simple but looks good. The gameplay is pretty simple too but it works for what it is. My main gripe is the spikes are way too hard to see, and sometimes they just unavoidably spawn underneath you, resulting in some cheap deaths. Still, not a bad game!

camlang says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Nice time killer. I had a feeling that spikes spawn right where you're falling most of the times)

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:30am

The only problem I had was with spikes appearing right below me where it was literally impossible to avoid them.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]