Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Combo Farm

by Silverfyre - Jam Entry

This is a mix of farm puzzle with a little bit of twist, comes with 10 levels!

Your main objective is to plan piping to water the plants in your farm, and make them COMBO grow!

The higher combos you achieve, the more points you will get!

Controls/Steps:
1. Choose/Rotate Pipes with [1] [2] [3] [4] keys.
2. Plant Pipes with mouse left-click on the farm.
3. Right-click to cancel or undo a planted pipe.

Please let me know any bugs/issues/suggestions/link errors.

Thank you for playing! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#177Theme(Jam)4.07
#214Fun(Jam)3.55
#292Overall(Jam)3.55
#390Innovation(Jam)3.31
#546Mood(Jam)3.18
#549Audio(Jam)2.93
#636Humor(Jam)2.43

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:24am

Pretty cool puzzle game! Should have mobile support! Unsure of how combos work, though.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:35am

Cool twist on the classic pipes mechanic. Reminds me of doing the pipes in SimCity, but with a Harvest Moon scenario. Would definitely work well on mobile. I'd like more from the music which gets a bit repetitive but the sounds are solid. Good stuff!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:58am

Great little puzzle game! The music got a bit repetitive and I would have opt for right-clicking being the rotation button but nice nonetheless.

gmatsura says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:21am

Very fun and impressive for an LD entry.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:27am

Fun game! You should put this on mobile!

Gunzil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:37am

Water plants by strategically placing pipes for funneling water to crops. I'd be interested in seeing something like this in a Harvest Moon game. I only played the first 3 or 4 levels but the number of pieces provided seemed fairly liberal. The 15 second music loop got tiring really fast and unfortunately I closed the game early because of it.

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:05am

Wow good job, nice :3 good game mechanics. I like it.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:54am

Very nice game! Really enjoyed playing it, and I really like the graphics too!

Yvanor says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Good little and clever puzzle-game with a nice concept. The only problem is the slowness of the water when we pump, it destroy the pace of the game. Anyway, well done ! ^^

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Interesting puzzles. Good job!

Logicon says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:14pm

I didn't get the combo system

phi says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:40pm

I love a good pipe game! The water flowing animation is a little slow though... And the controls could be a little less cumbersome. I liked the level design, nice increase in difficulty. The visuals are well done, too, with a lot of attention to detail.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:46pm

A very professional feeling game! My only complaint was that hitting replay didn't let me replay the level. Very nice.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:57pm

This is great. To improve: would like to speed up the waterflow and to rotate the tubes with mouse scroll to avoid the keyboard.

zulman says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:01pm

I love games like Pipes :) Thank you for this retro feelings! Very fun :) Hope you'll enjoy our Let's Play Simulator 2016 as well http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=31114

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:05am

Well done, reminds me of a game I can't recall the name...
But it's a good one :)

Keep up the good work.

ninos says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:47am

Cool game, really liked the art :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]