Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Doomsday Preppers

by CrazyMinnowStudio - Jam Entry

Theme: Growing (as in, plants for consumption)

My entry is a 2D side scroller about survival in a doomsday bunker. You have to eat, drink, grow plants, and keep your stats up to survive. I went in with a very grand scope and figured I might not make it as a one-man-show, but I wanted to use the time to learn some big system management issues. I had much bigger plans but alas...I ran out of time. Hopefully there is enough here to relay my vision for the game. This is my first attempt at anything 2D. I heavily relied on Corel Draw for creating vector art. I know it's not really ready for prime time, but I would love to hear opinions about the concept.

Thanks and have fun!

A/S move left/right
space = jump
c = crouch
e/left mouse = use
mouse to look and target usable items.
i = inventory (click to pickup, click to drop)
1-4 to change the active toolbelt item.
escape = exit prompt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#181Mood(Jam)3.67
#241Graphics(Jam)3.95
#272Humor(Jam)3.13
#542Innovation(Jam)3.11
#735Fun(Jam)2.89
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#870Theme(Jam)3.16
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:00am

Cool concept! I really like the idea of having to manage all your stats to survive. I could see this evolving into having to grow food properly, and find a fresh source of clean water.
The graphics look good, and the overall mood is great!

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:12am

I don't think I quite understood this game. It's got a great walkcycle and decent music, but all I fathomed how to do was pouring water on plants and picking up the apples, only to find that the apples weren't in my inventory. Given the limited supply of water, dying of thirst was inevitable.

Help me out here, what am I meant to be doing?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14pm

@tweedle Thanks for your feedback, that is definitely the direction I'm going for in the game. I'm planning to continue development after a few days of Ludum recovery.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17pm

@yokcos700 Unfortunately, I ran out of time. The plan was for full stat and resource management, and far fewer bugs. ;)

Eingya says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:02am

Nice music and cool concept, would love to see it expanded in something a bit more complex.

Shivur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:13am

Nice concept. Meaybe the serie of operations to use an item is too complex. Picking it, opening the inventory, putting it in the bar slot, selecting the bar slot, clicking where you want to use it then redoing it to fill the bar completely.

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:29am

This could certainly be a cool game, shame you ran out of time :(

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:21am

This concept has so much potential to be a great survival game. Happy to know you'll keep developing.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Cool concept, great graphics and a fitting sound! I instantly thought about a 2D-Fallout version - but much better than their own mobile game...
I like the stats and the survival idea and hope you find the time to grow it into something larger!
Keep up the good work! :-)

sonelliot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:51am

Nice concept, has the potential to be a great survival game. The overall mood and BGM was great. I found the inventory management a bit cumbersome and I couldn't find out how to replenish my water supplies. Seems like it needs some balancing, but it's a great starting point!

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:15pm

It is an incomplete game, so you'll lose some stars for that, but my feedback:

Nice moody music & snappy graphics! The interaction system looks solid enough to build on.

To progress to a game, really think on what your unique angle is in survival. Simply surviving is not really that interesting. You need some adversaries, or a well defined separate mechanic&goal, to which the survival mechanic adds some tension.

Logicon says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:26am

I FOUND OUT THAT IM GOING TO DIE ON THE FIRST DAY.

drinkadriu says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:01am

Amazing game i love survival this was awesome

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]