Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tank Planet

by MrNyarlathotep - Compo Entry

A mouse only (2 buttons!) controlled wave based shoot 'em up, that is set on a tiny planet because I had no time to implement the growing part (lucky only one theme is compulsory!)

All assets made by me, I'll throw them up on OpenGameArt in a few days if anyone wants them.

My first actually game complete compo entry!

Tools used:
Game Engine: Unity (http://unity3d.com/get-unity)
2D stuffs - Adobe Photoshop Elements 10 (http://www.adobe.com/)
3D stuffs - Blender (https://www.blender.org/)
Sound Effects - BFXR (http://www.bfxr.net/)
Music - LMMS (https://lmms.io/)
Fonts Used: Grammatika-Regular and Ricasso-Regular under the Open Font Licence (https://fontlibrary.org/en)
Skybox made with Spacescape (http://alexcpeterson.com/spacescape/)

***PLEASE NOTE***
Game is best played in Firefox or Chrome, as you really need to see your crosshair, and it doesn't appear in Edge

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#304Graphics3.44
#440Audio2.71
#539Humor2.25
#658Mood2.72
#767Overall2.89
#795Fun2.64
#852Innovation2.40
#877Theme2.97

Comments

Aerohand says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Well I think for two button control, moving the mouse to aim is kind of cheating. I like the graphics and audio, but there's almost no innovation in this game.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Very unique game, definitely liked the style you were going for. Was a bit hard to see enemies coming up from behind you. Controls were a bit wuzzy at first, but once you get the hang of them its pretty easy to move and shoot. Good job!

zguerrero says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Great game! but a bit hard for me. the turret is not very responsive, and the projectils could be faster. but graphics and sounds are great!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Liked the models - they've got a sorta Halo vibe to them. I found that the aiming could be a little temperamental - shots didn't always go in the direction I expected. Also when the fast enemies show up and you can't outrun the off screen ones by moving, not sure how to deal with that. Got a score of 198.

limered says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Oh man, the soundtrack gets on your nerves ;) Graphics are awesome even specular reflection and shit! Shots should curve around planet.
Concept is a solid shooter. If you get into the controls, it's even fun. Except for the enemies, that come from behind XD

SadSmile says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Mouse is cheating xD

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Controls really well, but it's rather difficult. Good job, either way!

MisterAddy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Really amazing graphics. Would prefer it if the lasers curved across the surface rather than going off into the air. Also perhaps move the camera further back so you can see enemies coming at you from behind.

Firellon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Nice style, controls are hurting your game pretty badly, and there are more than 2 controls, as Aeroband said. Actually I liked the concept, but it need some polish. It would be better if you could control tank and tower separately, and if your enemies could not sneak you from behind (I mean there's no way for me to see what's going on at my back, so I have to shoot blindly).

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49pm

nice visuals. It's very challenging, sometimes I find it hard to dodge the enemies, especially when they sneak up from behind. well done

tanjent says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Argh, my Mouse Gesture Extension in firefox did a lot of bad things to my browser when holding down the right button and dragging around :) I think this needs a little in game radar so you are not surprised by the enemies coming in from behind.

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Great idea and graphics! Aiming with mouse sometimes not so accurate

tayl1r says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Those are some nice models! I only got 300 points, which I imagine is not very good.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:14am

Yeah mouse movement is cheating dude sorry lol.. It was a little too hard too.

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:23am

Oh, man, I really need a gun point backward, this alien is kicking my ass!!
Fun!

aplomb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:25am

Very cool. Love the graphics, explosion effects, sound. The gameplay can be pretty frustrating. The tank often seems to fire in a direction very far from the crosshair. And some indicator of someone coming up behind you would be helpful.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Hey, I dunno if any of you ever go back to a gamepage after commenting to see if your feedback is addressed (I do!), but....

First off, thank you to everyone who commented instead of just submitting a rating :)

re: mouseaim being cheating... well, I obviously didn't think so, and its not really actually mouse aim, but its been mentioned enough that in retrospect I probably should have just had firing be automatic (as there's really not a lot of point NOT just holding down LMB)

re: controls; bad design on my part, as they're fairly elaborate 'on the back end', but the fancy stuff is invisible to a player.
The turret only rotates left and right, and fires directly forward (although the crosshair implies differently) and theres a bug I left unfixed where it only rotates if the mouse os over the planet model.

For the tank itself, I created a virtual analogue stick, so there's a dead zone in the centre of the screen where you move directly forward to stop turning being too twitchy, and the further from centre the mouse i, the sharper your turning circle; at the very edge of the screen you can almost turn on the spot.
Like I say, this is probably poor design (or at least poorly explained in the instructions) because the code for this is quite fancy, but I get the feeling people just assume its just using mouselook steering.

re: difficulty - yeah, balance tweaking is definitely not something I found time for.
The purple guys spawn in waves, and all move slower than the player, but after 30 seconds they 'enrage' to red guys that move faster than the player, so optimal strategy is to hunt down enemies rather than wait for them to come to you. Better signposting of 'enrage' states would be helpful here - maybe lerping them over time from purple to red so you can see which enemies you should take out first before they enrage would have helped.

re: annoying music... compo entry, and my lack of musical skills is the fault XD

Again, many thanks to all of you that commented!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]