Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Mon Démon et Moi

by Spyboy - Jam Entry

--WARNING--

This is a demo version in which we focused on the narrative aspect. There will be much more platformer mechanics using the size of the demon in the final version. We will update the full game as soon as possible!

--DESCRIPTION--

Mon Démon et Moi (My demon and I) is a game made by 7 french students during the Ludum Dare 34.

We have worked under the theme growing and we wanted to put emphasis on the atmosphere/ambience in order to make the most meaningful game possible.

Please enjoy and feel free to comment or rate our game. We stay at your service for further explanations."

--CONTROLS--

- WASD to move your character
- Space to jump
- E to interact with dedicated elements
- During the introspection phases with your demon, use the mouse to choose a response

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
Graphics(Jam)4.84
#6Mood(Jam)4.46
#27Audio(Jam)4.19
#60Overall(Jam)3.98
#130Innovation(Jam)3.73
#475Theme(Jam)3.72
#503Fun(Jam)3.17
#528Humor(Jam)2.63

Comments

Drunkain says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59am

Masterpiece O_O

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:32pm

This is such a great game. The graphics and sound is incredible, and the way you developed the theme is deep and touching. I really , really liked it. I wish I knew some french to know what they were talking about.

Zellk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Dang the graphics would b really nice if they didn't move but thEY EVEN DO ! Great job on those moster designs i love them ;;;
The only weird feeling i have is from the 'plateformer' aspect ? I don't see why i'd have to jump in this city o: I guess stairs would've worked better to break the monotony of a flat ground, without putting a jumpin option !
Still a really nice game, great job eveyone !!! (uvu)b !

fafastudio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Salut ! :)
On est français aussi, ca fait plaisir de voir qu'on est pas les seuls ! :D

Bravo pour votre jeu, c'était vraiment très beau, et on a été plutot bluffés par votre réalisation en si peu de temps ! :)

N'hésitez pas à tester notre jeu, et nous dire ce que vous en pensez surtout !

Encore bravo !

Kazura says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Beautiful graphics and mood ! Liked the concept so much, the game looks nice and has an interesting narrative design!

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14pm

L'animation est excellente! Bon boulot!
Par contre ça a l'air super buggé, je l'ai lancé 3 fois:
- le saut ne marche qu'une fois au debut
- la touche 'C' lance une animation du monstre qui sort de l'ecran si on tente de se déplacer
- une fois arrivé sur le banc, impossible de passer à la suite
- certains boutons aparaissent hors du cadre

blurryroots says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25pm

I have no idea what I just played, but I very well relate to the concept of everyone having his own demon. Thank you for this.

TeamCalin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Very beautiful game, thanks a lot for the experience :)

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Je veux y jouer ! Sortez une version OSX !!!! ;)

xevozfighter says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53pm

I quite like it. Can't wait to see what comes of this.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Atmosphere is ... Woaw, u did a great job !
I just don't understand if my choices did something to the game or if it's just "une balade poétique" :p

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Excellent travail . Vous avez fait un jeu extrêmement émotionnelle.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02pm

I have to be honest.. I didnt understand it.

Which is a shame.. because I really wanted to. I loved the art and the idea....It just didnt achieve much for me. Maybe its just me doing something wrong.

Good job though.

wine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Great concept!

Tasgardyen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12pm

I can only say.. Great job!

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12pm

DAT FUCKIN GAME IS AWESOME ! great job ! i really like it !
C'est vraiment du bon travail les gars !

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Mais le download a été vraiment long, a voir si vous ne devriez pas changer d'hebergeur ;)

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16pm

The graphics remind me a bit of Don't Starve. Very nice idea and figuring out how to play is very intuitive. You approached the theme in a different way, thumbs up!

Windywyll says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Great game, the atmosphere was really good. Good job.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Excellent graphisme et bonne ambiance général! Bien joué

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54pm

I really loved the "language" the characters use to express themselves through the game. It's universal and personal as most game conversations often are not :D

It reminded me of the great effort that Chris Crawford and his team is putting in the development of his interactive storytelling technology and the game Siboot.

If you don't know about it already, have a look at the project on siboot.org :)

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Loved it, the graphics are stunning! Didn't quite get the point of the game though, the only thing I thought was right is that I had to keep my demon as small as possible. Oh and if I run the game in window mode, some GUI elements are outside the screen :/

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Eh, des français ! :) Votre jeu est excellent, les graphismes et les sons mettent totalement dans l'ambiance. Je ne peux qu'applaudir.

Hackbug says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Very nice game, i was really happy to play it :D

mrStrings says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Salut! Votre jour est très intéressant :)

Some ideas for the team: if you wish to continue working in the title, I would recommend aiming fully for the atmosphere and elaboration of the wonderful interaction system you created. It will probably be a much more rewarding experience than simply adding platforming elements.
And hey, I would love to see more of your game, it has huge potencial. Congratulations!

pokipsy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:37am

Wow cette ambiance, ce jeu m'a complètement happé dans son univers ^^
Par contre je suis pas sûr d'avoir bien compris le but et l'impact des phases "d'introspection" sur les bancs.
Un grand bravo à vous, mention spéciale pour la DA et le sound design!

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Quite a mood. Beautiful. But I am not sure what the thumbs up / down is for...

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Wow, it's great. You did this in just 72 hours? Great work! Loved it.

Softsound says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Interesting concept. Beautiful art.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:30pm

I was not able to get this game to run via wine on linux; perhaps you could export a linux version?

Tymus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Mooooore pleaaaaase <3

Spongos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:56pm

That's so cool :D
I need the whole game :3

Strike says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Même si je n'ai pas vraiment compris ce que je devais faire dans ce jeu, l'ambiance est vraiment prenante et les graphismes sont splendides. Je n'ai pas trop vu l'intérêt de rajouter des élements de plate-forme. Mais comme vous le dites vous-même, c'est surement à explorer plus en profondeur plus tard pour une prochaine version. Très bon travail.

argosenpaikun says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:21pm

A very deep game with better graphics, arts and musics. I deeply enjoys it. Such a masterpiece ( O_O)_b

gmatsura says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Wow! I really like the mood and atmosphere created by the art and music.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Beautiful graphics and audio. The core idea is interesting, the mood supports it perfectly and it's well executed.

Amazing job, I think you did make a meaningful game.

laaph says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:39am

Awesome art!

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:07am

Awesome atmosphere. The music and graphics are a perfect match.
The game really gpt me immersed although I didn't really understand what I was doing or why.
But it is a great entry. Probably the game with best mood I have played this LD.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:19pm

The art looks beautiful, though the animations don't do it justice, really.

Gameplay is confusing, and it won't let me get too much in the mood, even though the drawings are really well done.

Good job!

Alphish says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Well, that took a while to download; it seemed like speed was capped at 6-ish kBps. ^^"

Still, the entry was mighty fine, with its mood, wordless narrative and audiovisuals. The people and their demons were quite interesting; I particularly liked the old man and his demon consoling (?) him.

It felt somewhat short on the mechanics aspect; the platforming wasn't practically used, except for a few jumps every once in a while, and sometimes the choices ended up off screen (e.g. demon's hand-down). Also, it seems there's no way out of the ending screen, and one would be useful in this game especially with the replayability factor present here. ^^"

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:35pm

I didn't really understand what was going on with the emotional responses (just like real life!), but the concept is intriguing, and the art style is really impressive. I would love to see this fleshed out a bit more.

local minimum says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Absolutely fantastic job. Very well made. I quite didn't figure out, or actually didn't really want to understand the actual mechanics of the game. I just wanted to enjoy it. That was how good it was. The jumping really didn't feel like a necessary addition to the game and with it you had the vertical drops in the landscape that kind of felt like they broke the general awesomeness of the style of the game. For post jam version I would remove those and if need be for variation would make a topology that can be walked without the need for jumping (most of the time) and built from grassy stuff that fits nicely together. Great job though. Seriously great job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]