Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Magic Lumberjack

by JoseArias - Jam Entry

Show your lumberjack skills and cut all the wood you can without missing!!!

Calculate the needed strength for each chunk and cut it.
Chunks cut by 1 hit have double value!

Be careful! If your last hit is stronger than necessary or if you hit the chunk more than 3 times, you will lose the axe and you will have to start again.

Watch the fruit! Each one will give you a temporary extra ability. Will you try them?

Hold and Release X to hit the chunk.
Press Z to eat a fruit.

Fruits:
Extra strength - Selfexplanatory
Extra precision - The “right cut” range is increased.
Extra life - If you miss the hit (Third cut is incorrect or the cut is too strong), you have another try.

------

Themes were growing and two button controls. We decided to do both!

——— Known Issues ———


——— Credits ———

Yes, we are brothers this is our second Ludum Dare and game. We hope you enjoy the game as much as we enjoyed developing it.

- José Arias Fernández: programming, effects.
- Miguel Arias Fernández (@tuercadevuelta): artwork, animation.


——— Change log ———
V1.1 - Fixed score minor bug. When a perfect cut was done at 9, 99, 999... The score system doesn't add the new digit + Extra life calculation error.
V1.0 - Release - https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/20225836/Ludum%20Dare%2034/Web.html

——— Sound licensing ———
Main Theme - by reinsamba, https://freesound.org/people/reinsamba/sounds/239143/, Creative Commons 3.0. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Wood cut - by Tristan_Lohengrin, https://freesound.org/people/Tristan_Lohengrin/sounds/250391/, Creative Commons 3.0. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Glasses - by cmusounddesign, https://freesound.org/people/cmusounddesign/sounds/85168/ Creative Commons 3.0. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Apple - by thedapperdan, https://freesound.org/people/thedapperdan/sounds/199923/, Creative Commons 3.0. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Throwing - by Pogotron, https://freesound.org/people/Pogotron/sounds/60835/, Creative Commons 3.0. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Oh Yeah - by Huminaatio, http://www.freesound.org/people/Huminaatio/sounds/189279/, Creative Commons 3.0. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Kick - by Ekokubza123, https://freesound.org/people/Ekokubza123/sounds/104183/, Creative Commons 3.0. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/




Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#74Graphics(Jam)4.39
#125Humor(Jam)3.59
#258Mood(Jam)3.55
#325Theme(Jam)3.88
#331Fun(Jam)3.39
#337Overall(Jam)3.51
#437Innovation(Jam)3.25

Comments

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Simple, I liked it. Took me awhile to get going. Record was 5 i think. Lost interest quickly but for those 5 minutes or so it was good. Nice art and sound

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Beard-man is cool and mechanics are interesting! I say "good work"!

ajopart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Great work. Art is amazing. Neat concept yet challenging. Good work team !!!

Miltage says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:21pm

I loved the art style and the polka music, but I feel you could be more lenient with the margin for error.

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Man, that was tough. Great visual style though.

JoseArias says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Thanks for the comments!
@Miltage if you make the game easier, it means that you will not fail and there is not challenge.

lawendt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Liked it! But wasn't too sure if the "you hit too much, you loose" mechanic isn't too "demanding".

JoseArias says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:13pm

@lawendt Yes! One important point is the difficulty. "How long can you go without lose". Our mother was one of the testers and she achieved to score 8 points.

bessdlan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:20pm

good concept and fun game ^^

skripteriant says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:22pm

the art work was excelant and the gameplay was straightforward. Great game! The only thing I would say was I wasn't really sure the effects the fruit actually had.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Needs a little practice to find the good balance, but it don't take much time to be fun. :D

PS : Sorry for all that broken glasses...

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Original style!. It is difficult to control, but it's a good job.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Visuals are top notch. I couldn't get the hang of when I applied too much power, sometimes it felt like even a very short hold/release would have the axe flying. Good idea and integration with the themes.

Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Liked the graphics!

Catmoo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:02pm

I thought the game was awesome!

I found it a little hard to get used to how much strength to use as I kept flinging the axe out of my hands but once I got the hang of it, it was ok.

Looks awesome too!

Afendar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:08pm

MDR it's awesome concept i like music and graphism, I love game, I have played 30min. XD

Bocodillo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Sound design is fantastic and the graphics are great. Loved the gameplay too.

StaNov says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:53pm

The intro tutorial-screen is sooooo long :D I liked the game. It's simple, with nice graphics and well-chosen music.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Great art and audio. The tutorial screen was a nice touch. However, I didn't enjoy trying to guess how long to hold x with limited guidance. I think either more guidance, or more forgiveness could have gone a long way.

If instead of losing the game, it merely lowered our efficiency/score; swinging too much/too far, I think it could have been more enjoyable. The lose condition could be time-based or something else entirely.

Overall, great work!

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:31pm

Great work!Nice graphics and music

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]