Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Line/Dash

by Eingya - Jam Entry

LOSE CONDITION
As it seems lose condition weren't super clearly explained in the game, you lose by letting the squares getting to the left side of the screen, hit them with your lines to avoid that!

NOTES
I had originally started developing this with the intent of only following the "two buttons" themes, as the game evolved though it sort of ended up also fitting into the "growing" theme as the patterns the game generates are based on "growing" line-trees.

The game is a simple arcade thingy with a heavy focus on the player-controlled "procedural" patterns that the gameplay generates.

BLURB
Line/Dash is an Arcade-oriented game that doubles as a procedural player-controlled multimedia sculpture.

The basic gameplay is extremely simple, and only requires two buttons: The left click of your mouse will drop lines from the sky, while the right click will make those lines dash forward.

As the pace of the opposition gets faster and the line start splitting and crossing Line/Dash becomes a hypnotic and ever-changing visual experience. And you can also get high scores and stuff if you really lean that way!

WARNING
This game contains lots of contrasting bright colors, if you have problem with that stuff maybe don't play it

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#31Innovation(Jam)4.08
#102Fun(Jam)3.76
#120Overall(Jam)3.82
#200Theme(Jam)4.04
#240Audio(Jam)3.50
#286Mood(Jam)3.50
#401Graphics(Jam)3.66

Comments

Luke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:23am

Very fun and addicting :D

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:23am

Took me a few rounds of losing to figure out the mechanic, but once I did it was nifty. Very stylish! Need's a pumping electro soundtrack to match the theme :)

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:24am

Fantastic job! The concept was simple but done very well! I love this!

sichevoid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:27am

Wow, this is awesome!!! The best one I played out of the jam entries so far!
I would not call it simple, though. I only could score 30 points maximum )) and that after ~20 attempts or more

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:01am

Nice idea and fun to play

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02am

I love the concept ! :D
But it's not that simple, it's kinda hard for me to have a score greater than 15 (but maybe I just suck xD ). And I like the simple abstract style, it suits this game well :)

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:06am

Cant really figure it out that much... What are the lose conditions?

jofra says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09am

114! Great game!! Very fun and adictive! Great concept with a really suiting soundtrack.

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:12am

Fun little game mechanic, and I love the minimalistic art style too! It really needs background music though :D

sonelliot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:45am

Very fun. All the sounds were pretty great. Loved whenever the music kicked in for a bit.

rsf-krx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53am

Love the idea for this game. Really addicting and fun to play!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23am

Fun game, took me a while to get, but probably just me

Reisen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:26am

Very addictive. And it looks really neat when you start having a lot of those lines on-screen.

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:26am

Kept me entertained for 10 minutes

Ryusui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:42am

I want this on my 3DS or Vita, STAT.

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:47am

Nice clean style, with clean sounds and an interesting enough mechanic that it kept me playing for over ten minutes.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:51am

So addicting and fun. I love how you get a little music beat when you do well. Got to 138.

Epicruins195 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58am

Things I liked:
- Visuals are clear and effective.
- Visuals progressing and changing in tune with game play.
- Audio complements game play and visuals well.
- Challenging but fair, good difficulty curve.
- Very innovative concept.
- Runs and plays well.

Things that could be improved:
- Mechanics could be explained a bit better in game.
- Font can be difficult to read

This is one of the best entries to the jam I have seen so far. Excellent work!

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:08am

awesome design. it feels like a music game when you get some nice compo. at that moment i always get the feeling that a hot electro rhythem would follow. :D

adriano says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12am

Got to 139!

Rulrite says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11pm

A beautiful game, so clever and well-made. You did a wonderful job with this; I love the mechanic.

Linkigi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:15pm

This game is super slick. It feels great when you get a good combo and clear the screen. The gameplay is very interesting and well made. It is simple but has depth. I like the simplicity of the audio and graphics too since they match the gameplay and contribute to the experience as a whole because of this.

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:36am

If it had some bass heavy electronic music, I think that would have perfected this game. amazing! Very addictive!

hydancer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:41am

This feels surprisingly nice to play. When you get a chain going or when one of your line doubles and hits 2 at the same time it feels really really good. I'm honestly surprised this feels so nice. Good job!

ashish says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:52am

Amazing, challenging , addictive game with nice and clean minimal graphics. Very well made.

Dianouille says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Very fun ! A little too hard for me, but still enjoying it.

ascam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Really fun game but... Quite hard, because of the response time... The square already is out of the screen when the lines comes in :p (plus some collisions)

Anyway, amazing design and concept !

Keelan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Really loved this. Beautiful execution of a simple idea. I tip my hat to you sir :)

newbeings says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Well done! Nice design. Feels like it's worth developing more.

One thing is that I found it sort of hard to track where to right click when a cube was far across the screen, but maybe that's part of the challenge.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Really cool game. The audio was minimalistic but fit perfectly.

mukult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Nice game!! Loved the audio...art...
Its satisfying!
A clever and polished game!

ddr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:54pm

I love minimalist graphics. Gameplay is interesting but would deserve a better explanation or a way of more gradually getting used to it ?

Another issue is the lack of symmetry (the first one will ALWAYS go down and THEN go left) is annoying me (I really don't know why, it's just ... weird I suppose ?)

Anyway, great game ;)

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Good mechanic, i would have liked to have a preview of where blocks will come before they come in order to anticipate a bit more but it's already fun without.

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Nice graphics! It's a little bit hard to understand at first, but it's really fun :)

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:27pm

BRUTAL! love it!

blohod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Very fun, I enjoyed the great concept and had fun with the pretty colours. Played on stream at http://www.twitch.tv/meep706

Peekotus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Took me a while to realize the mechanic but after that it was very fun.

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:33am

More than any other game I've played in the jam, this one let me feel creative. The aesthetic makes me feel like I'm creating a modern art piece, and the musical aspect really feels natural. I'd love to see you build up the musical aspect of this game, enhance the graphics just a little bit (maybe some neat explosion effects when you hit the squares, maybe some different square types, and some power ups).

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:36am

The more simple it is, the best! Congratulations on the game man! Keep on polishing! Got score of 103.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:37am

Lovely game! Incredibly creative gameplay and loads of fun to boot. Would love to see musical elements applied to the game; not sure if I'd be able to stop playing if they were added!

Robber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:48am

perfect game!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:59am

So simple but so addictive! You've got something with this one.

The only complaint i can make is about the font that is really difficult to read.

Great entry :)

Tuism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:08am

Really cool little game, super juicy, polished, minimal in a good way. Needs music, but still great cos sounds is good.

The speed and the pacing is all pretty great. Lovely :)

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Great game! Nice idea and neat sounds

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Cool idea!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:39pm

After you get hot to play it gets very addicting!

Mikhail says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:24pm

I liked the game a lot. Great Job!!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Very cool use of simple geometric aesthetic.

'Addicting' is about right. Nice job friend.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Very well done! Loved the minimalist artstyle and the audiodesign was pretty nice although, the fail-sound got a little bit grating after a while.

The mechanics were simple to grasp and I had no trouble grasping the tutorial in the beginning. It's definitely more challenging than I'd guess as I still haven't gotten past 11 points yet :P.

I was a bit confused initally though over the score-screen and the fact that the game just kept on going with it on. It was slightly annoying also that the amount of time it stayed on in the background seemed a bit inconsistent as, sometimes it took the first score for it to disappear and other times it lingered longer. Think it might've been a bug those times, so you might want to check it up.

Otherwise, very nice :). Well done!

Patomkin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:43am

A very sound entry (pun intended)! Spice the gameplay a little bit more and it will become much more interesting
I only didn't understand what the rhombus did aside from playing a tone.

AndreasL says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:50am

Interesting game. The game was a little gloomy when there was only black and white colors. As soon as you through colors into the mix it got a lot more fun. I don't fully understand why it stayed black and white for so long.

It would've been really nice to have some music. But the sound effects are nice, and the gameplay is simply but quit cool. I like how you can get a combo effect of a single line if you're good enough. Solid game! Good job!

scorched says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Looks nice, wish lines were slower!

thesquigglez says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:49pm

very fun. nice sound design. this will stay on my desktop so i can play it more :)

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:36am

Nice game, good graphics for it, and audio worked nicely.

Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Could be ideal, but it looks like some attacking (?) squares are spawned and fly (horizontally, I'm not talking about vertically moving squares) beyond the borders of the screen. And then it's game over. :(

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Really fun and polished, kept re-trying to try and get higher scores

Omiya Games says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:24am

Fantastic game! Love the simple mechanics that gives birth to a really tense combo system. Do you wait longer to gather longer combos, or take it safe and take out the boxes immediately? One of the freshest game I've played this jam.

dreamlogician says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Really fantastic concept. My first thought after grasping the controls was "I wish I had thought of this," and when your game makes other designers feel jealous that's usually a good sign. ;)

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Pretty good game. I love how good you feel when you start making combos hitting a couple of cubes with one single line splitting and splitting again. The colours affects are apropriate and cool thought sometimes colours don't mixed well together.

Jan 6, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Really neat concept! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/eeRk2tDl2JU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]