Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Seeds

by puddelipip - Jam Entry

Small seeds must spread their kind throughout a dark and abandoned world. Propel yourself using only your mouse and try to adjust your trajectory as little as possible once your seed is airborne!

Phew, 40 minutes to deadline and we have most things in there except for our own sounds (thank you freesound). There are two levels to try your skills at with a proper ending to boot so you can feel a sense of accomplishment and purpose! DO IT!

Hope you enjoy our efforts, it's been a blast!

(Went for both themes, Two Button depends on if you count mouse movement as a button)

Music: a lot of people seem to like the music, and we do as well! It's a free asset from this person: http://www.littlerobotsoundfactory.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#482Innovation(Jam)3.19
#602Mood(Jam)3.11
#615Theme(Jam)3.58
#665Fun(Jam)2.97
#668Overall(Jam)3.16
#679Humor(Jam)2.33
#717Graphics(Jam)3.05

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Nice audio! Is it made with your voice? Truly a great game!

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:49pm

This was really neat to play, the controls are nice, however I just feel like there needed to be a bit more challenge rather than just adjusting the trajectory whenever, but I liked it!

RIDBers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Thanks for the effort of developing this game for Ludum Dare. I advice you to use smoother graphics for close camera games like this one and more basic character illustration, I didn't guess which kind of creature is it. Musicis good but I feel it doesn't match to game theme. Keep working.
Laura - RIDBers programmer.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Pretty nice effort with this. Took a few moments to understand what to do. But very nice effort. I also really like how when you hold down the mouse button, it sort of goes into slow motion to allow you to aim. I really liked that.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Pretty cool. I liked the graphics style. Could give more feedback on the trajectory change and launch speed.

amorphous says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Changing the trajectory once the seed was in midair worked nicely, and the game looks great. I had a little trouble figuring out how the initial launch worked though, and the tutorial text at the beginning was hard to read. Very nice job!

dweebster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Very nice game and strangely addictive music!

Only annoying part is if you bend a "flower" in the wrong way I couln't figure out how to bend it back again without releasing the seed.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:43pm

I liked the art it was pretty unique, I think changing the trajectory in mid air made the game way to easy. My suggestion would be to limit the amount of times someone can change the trajectory so it becomes more challenging.

paulfysh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:43pm

That was a bunch of fun, I might have considered putting a cap on the number of adjustments you were allowed to make in a level. I did level 1 without using any and then level 2 was a breeze just using them as much as I wanted.

kabel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:51am

So, the music was and the graphics seemed okay, the plant dynamics were also good. It just didn't work very well.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Cool concept :)

marod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:22pm

I liked it a lot, the bullet time was a nice thing

RadStar says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Nice concept! I really like the voice-based music :)
I think it would be great to have some indications on the seed's trajectory before releasing the catapult.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:44pm

This is really good. I like the detail level. I also would like to give it good marks for audio, but the category is not there. :) nice entry!

Raphi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:05pm

It was really fun, but for me the air control makes the game too easy. I liked the concept, I had fun

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Loved the music, enjoyed it :p

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Very interesting!
The seed launching mechanics are fun and creative!

Polith Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:15pm

I like the audio, great job

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Nice entry. I wish there is more level with more traps to make it more challenging. I had some issues with the catapult system, charging direction might go in one direction only. The idea is interesting, keep it up!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Very interesting concept. The levels aren't very difficult, but I had fun nonetheless. Great stuff!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Fun and relaxing!
Graphics are great too!
good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]